We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm, comfortable, welcoming”
other traveller has booked this property
Sandstone Trail Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sandstone Trail Cottages
Brown Knowl Home from home
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Sandstone Trail Cottages
Brown Knowl
Home from home
Bathroom
Some of our hens
Some of our bees
Dog friendly
20 mins the the ridge on foot
Need to charge your car?
Granary parking
Back home for a rest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Broxton, Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrea C
West Wickham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm, comfortable, welcoming”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I booked Granary Cottage as a surprise for my fiancé and, as anticipated, was not disappointed.

The owners Ray and Jackie were so welcoming and could not have done more to be there for us, from advice and any questions we may have had, to supplies including fresh eggs and wood for the fire place.

The cottage itself is stunning and, even though it has been completely renovated from it's original building, it has been done so tastefully and thoughtfully.

All in all a wonderful holiday.

Thank you so much for helping to make his surprise to complete.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and peace
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
477liz
Castle Hedingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another wonderful week in Granary Cottage”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was our second holiday staying in Granary Cottage which is just so very lovely. Spotlessly clean, lovely furnishings, kitchen equipment, fresh flowers, eggs and honey, etc. Cannot recommend this property enough. The owners Jackie and Ray are just marvellous; a truly genuinely welcoming and helpful couple. We will be back!! Gareth, Toffee and Liz.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent, looking forward to my next stay”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The cottage was exceptionally clean, warm and welcoming. Great thought and care has been put into creating this lovely holiday cottage. All mod cons and beautiful countryside. Lots of walking straight from the door. A great local pub is 10mins walk away and there is lots to do in the area. A great destresser, we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and quality
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie C
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a two night stay at Granary Cottage and loved every minute of it! Jackie and Ray are very welcoming and attentive to anything we needed. Special thanks to Jackie for helping us find our way on our walk around the beautiful sandstone trail! We would recommend this stay to anyone! Thank you again, we hope to stay again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuandGwe...
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quite Simply, EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed over the Christmas period whilst visiting family. This is our second stay and now have enjoyed both of the cottages. The standard of the overall accommodation is excellent!
the lounge, bathroom and bedroom are lovely. I was particularly impressed with the kitchen. all the appliances and accessories are really "top notch" WiFi is also superb!
I would never hesitate in recommending Granary cottage.!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;