We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel(Walworth)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Manor House Hotel(West Auckland)
US$73
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$69/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel(Bishop Auckland)(Great Value!)
US$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel(Newton Aycliffe)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$40
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (872)
Filter reviews
873 results
Traveller rating
650
173
32
16
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
650
173
32
16
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housecoach houseoutdoor jacuzzihole golf coursemews roomhot tubevening mealsteam roomfour poster bedcountry house hotelwedding partyrelaxing breakafternoon tealovely surroundingsspecial occasionfrom start to finishjunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 873 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

My long-awaited return to HEADLAM HALL HOTEL finally came on Good Friday , the 30th of March 2018 .
First impressions upon arrival were of a more appealing and even more improved Headlam followed by memories rekindled walking through this uniquely Beautiful setting of immaculately manicured grounds towards the Bistro and Spa where the Warmth and Welcome were only comparable to homecomings of long ago .
Coffee was Excellent, just being there was priceless .
The bistro offers a lovely selection of meals , snacks and drinks , there was also a very good specials menu .
A walk through the wonderful movie-set gardens and grounds is an experience not to be missed on our way to the original , unique and Beautiful Headlam Hall .
Steeped in History and a Beautifully preserved Grand Master , just open the door and .....
All too much to resist , we decided to stay in the Hall for lunch and were very suitably Welcomed and accommodated by reassuringly professional Staff .

The food was Excellent , as good as it gets or ever was .
The Location is Wonderful , peaceful , tranquil.
Nothing was rushed , Everything was so Good .
A Truly memorable experience ,

Thank You Lovely People .

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jonny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

My wife and I stayed here 6 months ago and found that it ticked all the boxes so we booked in again for 10 nights and chose to stay in one of their deluxe suites. The hotel is in a superb position for visiting the North Yorkshire Dales, Durham Dales as well as Northumberland and for day trips to the Lake District. It also has beautiful gardens, a spa, a 9 hole golf course, an excellent bar and restaurant and the prices are not excessive but having stayed at more luxurious places I have to say that the staff here are the factor that makes the difference. They are so hardworking and they do genuinely try and make your stay as enjoyable as possible. If you are looking to eat out there are numerous high quality pubs and restaurants within a 10 to 20 minute drive. The downsides are the weddings that take place 2 or 3 times a week - they are not a major problem but you do get the odd guest who gets a bit drunk which I find annoying. The other issue we had this time is just a number of silly maintenance problems that really should have been picked up by the housekeeping staff - light bulbs not working, a broken lamp, a sink plug that would not let water out, a broken ventilation fan in the toilet....All these are really small issues but it does let the hotel down a bit. Having stayed at a number of hotels in the area I still rate this one as very much better overall.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sheepygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

A really amazing day, filled with both excellent spa treatments and relaxing settings. From our arrival, we were greeted by really friendly reception staff and given our personalised itineraries for the day.
We had an incredibly relaxing time, chilling by the indoor pool and making use of the steam room, sauna and outdoor jacuzzi.

The 90 minute couples massage was sensational. A tranquil experience in a very peaceful massage room with really relaxing massages.

Then, a lovely lunch in the brasserie with home cooked foods and again, wonderfully attentive staff who couldn’t do enough for you, at the same time not being intrusive.

Overall, we were highly impressed with the attention to detail and professionalism of all the staff who went above and beyond. We had a very special day and can’t wait to return!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Polly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

We stayed over and overall it was excellent. We relaxed in the spa which was lovely, We listened to the pianist before dinner in the restaurant and afterwards and it was so so so delightful. The food was delicious. We must book up to come again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank handt2k15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

We had a great stay despite the difficult weather. Hotel very efficient and welcoming, everything was spot on. Hotel has a great setting, despite the fact that the grounds were covered by drifting snow. Great placed to be 'holed up' as spa is a great place to relax - small but well equipped and organised with brassiere, treatment rooms and outdoor hot tub in the snow!. We stayed in main building - two nice character rooms, well furnished. Quality of food is consistently good. Pleasant lounge bar areas with welcoming log fire. Difficult to find any faults. Hotel is of nice size- not too big and impersonal. My only slight criticism might be that it would be good to vary the dinner menu a little more if people stay more than one night, by putting on some different specials- but this is minor compared the very enjoyable break we had - would certainly recommend and book again

Stayed: March 2018
Thank clairejwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews