We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekday lunch on hot summer’s day”

The Four Horseshoes
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Said to be the oldest pub in Suffolk, The Four Horseshoes is a family run, 12th century Inn, offering home cooked food and accommodation seven days a week. As well as offering great food and comfortable accommodation, The Four Horseshoes is also the ideal venue for meetings, functions and parties. We have two separate function rooms and a whole acre of car parking space.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely location for a pint and lunch on a hot day with Thornham walks all around. A classic ancient English pub.

Thank SuffolkSnowbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K, Manager at The Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review! It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit to us! I hope we'll see you again soon :)

Many Thanks
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fish and chips was ok, fairly standard, I mean it's hard to get a basic wrong. However, the roast beef was dry and tough, roast potatoes dry (possibly reheated?). Few vegetarian options on the menu and the spinach & falafel burger was too peppery to eat and looked store bought. Free desserts or coffees offered and declined so 10% taken from two unsatisfactory meals. Will not be returning anytime soon.

Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K, Manager at The Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there,

I'm sorry to hear you were just as disappointed when you left as you were when you walked in.

I feel it fair to add a few details that you seem to have omitted from your review.
It is true, we are not a vegetarian restaurant - we work closely with local butcher's and fishmongers to produce the best locally sourced home cooked food. I have spoken to the chef's regarding the peppery flavour of the spinach & falafel burger (it is unfortunate you wouldn't allow us to change or replace any part of your dish for you, even so you did manage to just about force it down!!!) However, we were unaware your grandfather was struggling with our roast beef dish until you had finished. We are confident in the quality of our meats, but again I will check to make sure that there were no changes in any part of the preparation for last night.
We did offer you a change of meal, a replacement burger, free desserts and coffees on the house, but all of this was denied, and so we did make a deduction for you, which you were happy with I do recall.

Perhaps in time you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had an early Father's Day celebration here today. As ever, the food was amazing and service was excellent. We have allergy issues and these were very well catered for by the staff, who were attentive and happy to help. Lovely pub atmosphere. The music was not too loud, but very enjoyable to listen to. Really good menu and the food was cooked to perfection! Lovely to be able to keep returning to a pub and know that it still remains as good as ever. Thanks for a lovely lunch!

Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K, Manager at The Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Maria,

It's great to hear you all enjoyed your Father's Day meal with us, I hope we'll see you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

We ate here a while ago, had the "special" of Turkey pie - which was a pre made puff pastry lid filled with the turkey filling, very odd never had a pie served like that before, it was ok. We decided to give it another go as the pub has such a lovely atmosphere and the staff are very friendly.

We ordered the Chicken Tikka Curry. The amount of actual curry on the plate was pretty small, with the plate filled up with salad and pre bought naan bread.

I ordered a Horseshoes mess (like eton mess) for pudding, this was just frozen berries (I know this as some of them were still frozen), pre bought meringue and horrible vanilla ice cream that had lumps of ice still in it, this was £6.49.

Very dissappointing, i dont know why they dont home make their puddings as they could be so much better and for £6.49 you expect homemade.

We wont be trying this pub for a third time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SunbeamPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K, Manager at The Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Hi there,

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to us as much as we would have liked you too. We do clearly mark on our menus our homemade favourites, so maybe you just didn't see our range of homemade desserts when you popped in to see us last. We always want to hear feedback on our dishes so please don't be afraid to let us know when you are in with us, we may be able to sort it for you to enjoy then and there!
It's great to hear the staff look after you each time you are with us, I do hope you will join us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

We walked here from our campsite and also booked an evening meal. Both experiences were great and the food enjoyed by all 10 of our group.

1  Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K, Manager at The Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Hi there!

Thank you for such a lovely review! I'm glad all of you enjoyed your meals with us, I hope you'll pop in when you are next in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Four Horseshoes also viewed

 

Been to The Four Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing