We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super, peaceful cottage with all home conveniences”
other travellers have booked this property
Upper House cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Upper House cottage
Automatic gates  East side
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Upper House cottage
Automatic gates
East side
summer's day, roses by front door
Front door
Hallway
Upstairs to the bright living room
Sitting room view
Champagne on the balcony, view to the west
Comfortable seating
Charming details
Homely and welcoming
Attention to detail
galley kitchen
Dining area
Well-equipped for cooking...
...and cleaning up afterwards
Bright attractive bathroom
Shower
Bright double bedroom
Plenty of storage
Twin beds in the second bedroom
evening light
spectacular autumn sunset
A sheltered, private balcony
Walks on the doorstep
Off-lane parking
A truly rural setting
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Colerne, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Ian C
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Super, peaceful cottage with all home conveniences”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We spent the weekend at this lovely cosy cottage and look forward to going back. Everything you could possibly need is provided, even down to books and games.
Provisions were waiting for us on arrival and were greatly appreciated!
The lounge is very comfortable with great views into open countryside. The beds are super comfortable and the whole place was warm and cosy. I can't think of anything I could fault or would have liked to have had in addition to what is already supplied.
Bath, Bristol and lots of lovely places to eat and drink all within easy reach. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home
Liked least: Stay was over too quickly!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
Thank you both for your wonderful review. We much look forward to your return to visit your daughter at Bath Uni !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm W
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent, first class and highly recommended.”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A beautiful cottage in a lovely setting, home from home with all amenities.

Lettie and Will were delightful hosts who were available for any query in their adjacent property, they could not do enough to ensure we were happy. We even received fresh runner beans and tomatoes.

We have not had a cottage before and would highly recommend this charming venue.

We will come again and we have already recommended it to several friends, thank you for a wonderful break.

Own transport essential.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convivial, nothing too much trouble hosts, top class.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike, the people and the place were brilliant.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2016
Thank you so much .I am glad you were so happy in our cottage, and I hope the inquiry went in your favour We very much hope you will come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosiejune...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I wish I could pick this delightful cottage up and take it on every holiday. I seriously can't fault it. The beds were so comfy,the walk in shower and added bonus ,every home comfort you could imagine and to top it all a field of cows and a swing which kept my children (9 and 6)amused for hours. If I could only pick it up and take it nearer the beach. We had fantastic days in Bath and frome and just exploring the countryside 10/10

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for this glowing review. Reviews are what people read before deciding where to stay, so very important, and much appreciated. Please come again ! Will Darby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adejufin
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic views & very welcoming hosts”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We've just returned home from a short break in Upper House Cottage. What a wonderful, relaxing property, the perfect retreat to come back to after visiting busy places like Bath & Cheddar Gorge. The cottage was very well equipped & the provisions left for us were really appreciated after a long journey down. The views to the front & back of the cottage are breathtaking. William & Lettie couldn't have been more welcoming & accommodating. Thank you both very much for a brilliant short break in a wonderful cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
I very much appreciate your very prompt & generous review. It was a pleasure having a young family staying, who clearly had a great time.
Will Darby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H
1 review
“A tranquil base to explore the surrounding area.”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a fantastic short break. It flew by as there was so much to do within easy driving distance. The cottage offers a homely retreat in a beautifully tranquil setting. Our 6 year old loved every minute and wanted to stay for longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2016
Thank you, I'm glad your all too short visit was a success, and that Longleat visit was as good as you hoped. You came at the start of spring, and it only gets better. We very much hope you come again soon.
Will Darby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$141
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing