We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, and owners go the extra mile! :)”
other travellers have booked this property
Rose Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Cottage
Lounge, beamed throughout with wood burning fire Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Rose Cottage
Lounge, beamed throughout with wood burning fire
Lounge
Lounge Fireplace
Kitchen
Kitchen Window
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining Room with open fire
Dining Room
Dining Room Fireplace
Family Bedroom, King Size bed and two single beds
Panorama of Family room to show all beds set up
Family Room En-suite
King Size Bedroom
Family Bathroom
Roll Top Bath
Single Bedroom
King Bedroom with Ensuite
En-suite
Downstairs Bedroom with Ensuite, the patio doors lead straight on to garden
Downstairs En-suite
Garden Patio area with BBQ and lovely views of the moors and the village
Back of Rose Cottage
Extra Log Supply
Garden Archway
View from back of Rose Cottage
Rose Cottage and Parking
Goathland Shops
Local Sheep
Goathland
Goathland Steam Railway Station
Goathland Steam Railway Station
Whitby
Whitby
Whitby
Whitby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Goathland, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cawte21
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful, and owners go the extra mile! :)”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A group of usstayed in the cottage last month, and were over the moon with the accommodation. The house is beautiful, plenty of hot water and we were very touched by the kind extras provided by the hosts.

Emma is an incredibly friendly host, and provided any assistance we required. A few of the group are already making plans to return with their families.

Highly recommended accommodation in a beautiful part of the world. Thanks Emma!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
justin186...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage Highly recommended”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Booked for 3 days in March to attend a scooter event. The cottage was clean with everything we could possibly need, Emma met us at the cottage and was the perfect Host, she also left mikl coffee tea biscuits etc which was very kind. I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone. Great for large family gathering. Beautiful surroundings.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnDBarn...
Barnsley
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent self catering cottage rental”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We've recently rented Rose Cottage as a self catering cottage. We have stayed there in the past on a b&b basis, but this was our first time renting the full cottage. There were 6 others staying, together with my wife and myself, and there was still room to spare. The cottage is maintained to a very high standard, and has all the facilities that you need. My wife is particularly fond of the "traditional" bath in the main bathroom and always looks forward to a leisurely "soak" in there. The cottage is situated in a moorland position, but no matter how cold it is outside, its cosy inside. There is a large kitchen with all the equipment that you might need (although we didn't spend all our holiday cooking!) Emma & Jaz are excellent hosts and always provide a warm welcome and can advise you on local attractions and amenities. Whitby is 20 minutes away, and within the village itself there is the steam railway, "Heartbeat locations" and numerous walks. We'll certainly be going again and could recommend it to anyone considering a North Yorkshire holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage interior and location
Liked least: didn't really have any negative impressions
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilco76
Sandhurst, Berkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Cute Rose Cottage in Gorgeous Goathland!”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We spent a wonderful time in Rose Cottage on a self-catering break.

The cottage was well equipped with everything we needed for a relaxing break. The beds were really comfy and the whole cottage just oozes charm - we felt instantly at home the moment we arrived. The beams and the wood burner stoves in particular make for a really cosy cottage but with ample space for us all! The views from Rose Cottage, particularly from the back, are simply breathtaking.

The area is absolutely gorgeous! The local walks, particularly to Beck Hole and in the surrounding area (Rail Trail) were beautiful and I can only imagine would be beautiful at any time of year - they certainly were for us in January.

We tried out a few of the local pubs (enjoying some Black Sheep Ale, naturally!) and they were very friendly and as proper pubs should be. We also enjoyed fish and chips in Whitby, that was a very popular excursion for our party!

We will definitely be back next time we need to instantly relax and unwind in gorgeous Goathland and the North Yorkshire Moors! Thank you Rose Cottage for an amazing start to our year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! The cottage itself, the views, the local area.
Liked least: That we had to leave!!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$333
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing