We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (919)
Filter reviews
919 results
Traveller rating
442
245
112
63
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
442
245
112
63
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manor house red lion the pub the river residents lounge molton brown toiletries the cottages the main hotel teddy bear evening meal bar area black pudding car park village green kippers lovely location excellent food
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 919 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2018

It had been many years since last visited so was a little worried in case it had altered much. I was pleased to find, it was as charming as ever and a decent selection of food available. However we were shown to a table away from the ambience of the place. With it being a weekday lunch we plumped for the different burgers. Tasty. But overpriced..

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Foxymama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to review us.
Lovely to know that we are still as charming as you had remembered.
If you would have preferred to have sat elsewhere then if the table was not reserved we would have been more than happy to have moved you, next time just ask and we'll do our best.
Glad you enjoyed the burgers, we feel they offer great value for money. They are £11.75 each and are homemade with pork & beef, cheddar cheese, caramelised onions, smoked bacon, brioche bun, salad and homemade chips.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back
Kindest regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018

Spent two nights at the hotel; the first evening (Thursday) we were accommodated in a spacious room overlooking the river but for the second night (Friday), this room had been previously booked so we moved to another 'deluxe double' which was much, much smaller and in the centre of the hotel building, close to the bar. Unfortunately the hotel was hosting a party that evening and we had to wait until 23:30 before the shouting and singing finally subsided. Most disappointing.

Room tip: Avoid the higher room costs for Friday and Saturday nights if possible.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anthonyp625269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to review us.
You were in room 12 on the first night and then the second night in room 14. Floor space wise in the bedroom their is only about a few feet between them , room 14 is certainly not much much smaller.
We are sorry that you were disturbed, we weren't hosting a party it was just 3 separate groups of people having a bar meal. If you had of buzzed down to reception we would have asked them to keep the noise down as we want everyone to have a good nights sleep.
We hope that apart from the noise disturbance you had a good stay with us and you were well looked after
Kindest regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

We stayed in the cottages , fantastic views , clean and well appointed. Ate in the restaurant where the food for our party of 20 was excellent on both nights. Great service too. Bar provided a great range of beers and wines.

Room tip: Cottage No 4 , lovely bay window overlooking the river
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank martin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

The Red Lion is in a perfect location for exploring the Dales (even though I was there for a sales conference). Gorgeous walks all around and then welcoming owners and staff to come back to, not to mention the extremely good food and varied menu.

Room tip: Room looking onto village green not noisy- very little traffic at night!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob190736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to review us.
It was great that you chose us for your conference and it was really nice to meet you all.
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to be able to welcome you all back in the not too distant future
Kindest regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

I stayed in the very nice Red Lion Annex a very short walk from the main complex, but I parked in the hotels main parking lot as the entrance to the annex lot is rather narrow and in a rented SUV I decided prudence was the better part of valor. I stayed on a B&B basis but took dinner each night in the pub or dining room, menu is the same for both, but real table service in the dining room. Food was excellent, great breakfast with good choices and an excellent well priced and varied dinner menu with something for all tastes and appetites. The bar area is a venue for locals as well as guests and has a very convivial ambiance with a mixture of the great haired and the younger local clientele. The hotel is very well located for the Hiker/Walker with trails literally on the doorstep. There are many choices of trails including ones along the river bank towards Grassington or in the other direction towards Bolton Abbey the choice is yours depending on ones fitness and preference for a stroll or a more hardy hike. A bus service passes the door with a choice of destinations, useful for a ride out and a hike back, but check the timetable with care, holidays and week days and Sundays all have their specific timetable. All in all a great place to stay and relax and be waited upon by a very helpful and friendly international staff.

Room tip: The annex is a very short walk to the main complex and was very comfortable and silent.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DKTheHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to review us.
We are located in one of the most beautiful parts of the country with stunning scenery, wonderful walks, cycle routes and a river that is very popular for fishing.
Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were well looked after
We do hope to be able to welcome you back
Kindest regards
Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews