We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Can't wait to go back!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of A Sulana

A Sulana exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Sulana exterior
Big French windows and a southerly aspect make for a light-filled sitting room! A peek behind the kitchen counter showing just a few aspects of our attention to detail
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
A Sulana exterior
Big French windows and a southerly aspect make for a light-filled sitting room!
A peek behind the kitchen counter showing just a few aspects of our attention to detail
Our wonderful hot tub: good-looking, beautifully scented (red cedar), lovely to be in
Bedroom two: very relaxing, the twin beds can be transformed into an XL kingsize double
Bedroom one again: the decor is very restful.  Both bedrooms have ensuite shower rooms
Another behind the scenes in the open-plan kitchen
The dining area and open-plan kitchen
Fragrant herbs to pick, pool and spa in the distance
Shower-room, bedroom 2
Shower room, bedroom 1
Pool cascade, sundeck and hot tub
Sunflowers and cypresses on the edge of our village, Moussoulens
5 minutes' drive away is Montolieu, the picturesque 'book and art' village
The renowned medieval citadel of Carcassonne,  a World Heritage site
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Moussoulens, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Meihla G
1 review
“Can't wait to go back!!”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We spent a month at A Sulana. Sue made us feel right at home, and the house was spacious even for our large family. The location was ideal for us, as we used it for a central home base, and visited many nearby attractions/cities. My kids especially loved that she had a pool and bikes that we could use. Sue had wonderful suggestions for things to do and see. We had planned to visit the cave paintings in Bordeaux, and she pointed us in the direction of Foix, which was far less touristy, and had authentic paintings instead of reproductions. Thank goodness we listened to her, as it was one of the high points of our amazing trip. I highly recommend A Sulana, and we absolutely love Sue!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Thanks so much Roger. We're looking forward very much to welcoming you and Carolyn back next year for your 6th stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H
1 review
“outstanding”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just returned from a wonderful break at A Sulana. The property itself had everything (and more) that you could possibly need and had the most wonderful views from the garden. Sue had thought of everything and a thoughtful welcome pack was unexpected and very much appreicated.. A very useful guide was provided which included information which we used daily and discovered beaufiful places I am certain we would not have found without the guide provided. The property was so peaceful and relaxed it really was the best medicine for us all. The pool and hot tub were amazing. Cannot recommend highly enough and would recommend and will certainly return. Thank you Sue x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Superb accommodation and excellent pool and tub.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DannyP138...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Homely and Welcoming”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this holiday. The accommodation was pleasant and beautifully decorated with a room for the kids and another for me and my wife, both with showers. We shared an apartment which was one of three other guest gites which share the same plot as the owners house.
There was a hot tub and pool which had great views over the countryside and the free wifi meant that the kids were happy even when not occupied by days out.
In terms of the area there were lots to do. We drove to mountains for rafting, visited a local lake/park which had a range of activities and went to Montlieu which had some nice restaurants.
The owner Sue and her husband were very helpful and they even loaned us bikes to see the countryside. Loved it, thanks very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul2706
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience....Perfect”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We were looking for somewhere that was self contained, had a pool and was within easy reach of Carcassonne. It also had to be within a lovely village setting and managed by fantastic people. A Sulana met with every requirement! The accommodation is set beautifully in renovated a barn and it is easy to see there is a lot of love & pride in the entire property. We so enjoyed we want to go back and try our hands at this line of work, An inspiration.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything...Sue was outstanding and the property beautifully presented.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Thank you Paul. Looking forward to maybe staying in your place one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john n
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitality”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Reading the other reviews says it all. I would totally endorse - Sue is extremely helpful and aims to help you get the most from your holiday, Its wonderfully quiet, the boulangerie is fantastic, not far to Montolieu and Saissac, 20 mins from the airport at Carcassonne. Good base for the Black Mountains, the Corbieres, the Minervois and the foothills of the Pyrenees.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great help on activities.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing