We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, Restful and Friendly”
other travellers have booked this property
dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
dining area
picturesque village - Govedjari dining and living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
dining area
picturesque village - Govedjari
dining and living room
kitchen
bedroom
bathroom
living room and entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Govedari, Mljet Island, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
McDonough...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Restful and Friendly”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Unspoilt area as it is in the National Forest. Kristina who is there to help exceptionally friendly and can order food and home made bread from her. Best to stock up on your basics to avoid trekking into Pomona in the heat. Teenager happy because the wifi was good. Fantastic swimming in the lake, Great to be car free! Hired car for one day to go to Ullyses Cave everyone extremely helpful. Healthy food and plenty of fresh fish. Would definitely recommend to anyone unless you want a night club scene! Owners pick you up and take you to their restaurant or there is a restaurant which is a 10/15 minute stroll on the forest path to the lakeside

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb apartment in quiet and secluded hamlet”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Govedari is an old, secluded, small village, within the national park, on the beautiful and peaceful island of Mljet. There are no shops etc in the village, but the slightly larger settlements of Polace and Pomena are only a 10-15 minute bike ride away or a short hike on marked paths. The owner provided bikes for us for a very reasonable fee.

On arrival in Polace, we were met by the housekeeper, who waited while we visited the small supermarket, before driving us to the apartment. She was very helpful throughout our stay and we took up her offer of a dinner on our first night - again for a modest charge. She gave us a lift to Polace on the day we wanted to hire a car and, of course, she also took us to the port at the end of our stay - excellent and friendly service.

The apartment was very comfortable and fully equipped for our needs.

We really enjoyed the peace and quiet of Govedari as a base for exploring the national park on both bike and foot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: Shower was a bit erratic !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewWit...
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the nicest apartments I have stayed in, rustic village very close to ports and just 10 minutes walk from the lake”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

About the apartment, such a gorgeous setting in a rustic village this apartment has everything you could want - double bedroom well sized, open plan kitchen (including ac) and lounge with a very comfortable sofa bed. Kitchen is fully fitted and there is a utility room with washing machine. Zrinka has included coffee, tea, cleaning products etc so you only need to bring food. This apartment doesn't have a bbq, although the one down below does. And for my teenage daughters a spacious shower room and toilet.

You are within 10 minutes of Pomena and Polace where there are supermarkets and restaurants. There are two local restaurants, one is 10 minutes away walking the other is in Soline, the great news is they will pick you up and drop you off after you've eaten.
Kristina provided exceptional service and helped us with everything on the island and to top it all she brought us her home made bread.

You don't need to hire a car but we did for one day and went to the village of Saplunara, one of the few beaches on the island, it was very very nice with a couple of beach bars.

The best place for us (and wished we had gone here first) was Ulysses cave, 20 minute walk from the main road, a bit steep in places. Fantastic diving and right into the cave, and the best bit - teenagers loved the cliff jumping.

One top tip take snorkel and diving mask, both the lake and the sea have fish in abundance. We swam every day and hired double kayaks for an hour which was a great laugh. You can also hire bikes, lake is nice and flat going into Polace there is a bit of a hill.

Seriously my daughters reckoned this was one of the nicest places they have stayed at. Having wifi was good for both teenagers and me.

Any questions or help needed Zrinka (owner) was fab at answering and helped us enormously when we arrived (including advice on how to get from airport to ferry and what times)

Our first time in Croatia, the people are so friendly and helpful, very relaxed and the islands are not too busy. We'll be back!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bricht
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
“Great, secluded Location. Nature!”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We were a young couple from Germany, we're coming to Mljet since years for the pure nature, silence and amazing water quality of the sea and the lakes.

We stayed at the summer house for 4 nights.
The place is beautifully equipped, the highest standard we saw in Mljet so far. Great modern kitchen and bathroom, cute
The view is amazing - you're overlooking a beautiful green valley. Very quiet.

The house is located inside the island in a cute, historic village - it's only a short 5 minute ride from both harbor spots in Polace and Pomena with a car or scooter (We recommend to rent a scooter!).

During the day we usually hang out at the lakes - maybe 10 minutes with the bike. It's paradise. It's a bit up the hill to come back home but it's a beautiful ride.

Great place to stay on Mljet.

Bianca /

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire...
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in peaceful Goveđari”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We really couldn't have asked for more from our 3 nights on Mljet having chosen to stay in Goveđari. The apartment is supurbly well kitted out with a lot of room for a couple and barely looks lived in with many furnishings brand new. There are all the facilities available to cook and a lovely patio area to enjoy the quiet evenings.
Zrinka was the perfect host and really went out of her way to ensure a very relaxed stay for us. The lake is a 5 minute cycle or 15 minute walk though I highly recommend cycling to see find the perfect lakeside spot.
There are no restaurants in Goveđari though we were recommended a local family restaurant which was in a lovely spot on the lake.

If you are after peace and tranquility then this is the place for you. I cannot recommend Zrinka and her apartment enough and would love to return one day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing