We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Good Base, Beautiful Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Beckington, Frome, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rebecca12...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good Base, Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed here for a couple of nights as a base for a visit to Longleat. We had our shopping delivered a hour or so before we arrived and this was all packed away ready for our arrival, which we were grateful for. We were warmly welcomed and were pleased with the standard of accommodation too. Our lodge had beautiful views from the lounge and master bedroom, opening up onto grass and we dined outdoors on both nights with a good degree of privacy. The lodge was clean and well equipped. Our children enjoyed the games and toys in the lodge as well as the outdoor toys (they played happily with other children). But I have to agree with previous reviewers about the uncomfortable mattress. Also the blind in the third bedroom was a little temperamental. In fairness we didn't report either to the owners so they had no opportunity to address either. Neither ruined our stay. We would recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Style of lodge and location
Liked least: Mattress
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashir...
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A warm welcome from the relatively new owners.lovely cottage with great facilities.this cottage is in a great location,with longleat house and safari park not far.we instantly felt at home here and would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: accommodation
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Since the ownership changed in March, the site has been undergoing an intensive maintenance programme to ensure that it matches with our guest’s expectations.
We really hope to see you and your family again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestSusse...
West Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at the cottages four times over the years, they are a fab base to visit Longleat.

This time we went into one of their lodges which we were a little disappointed with, I know it's out of season but the ground/gardens didn't look very nice we had a tipped up bin out side on arrival, there was a large damp patch in the on suite. This is also meant to be child friendly , but there where two plastic bowls no children's, plate, cups cutlery, toys, DVD player, or high chair etc. We asked for lights to be replaced in the bathroom but this never happened. The lodge was immaculately clean and cosy we can't fault that but the double bed was so lumpy and uncomfortable this ruined our nights sleep. I would go back but think the lodges need some up dating and a lick of paint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
Thank you for your feedback and your positive comments about By the Byre, apologies I did say i would do the lightbulbs. We are usually able to fulfill requests for extra plates etc, have lots of highchairs available and the DVD player is under the telly (looks like a speaker). Will check out the mattress, we have often slept in the lodge and have not noticed, the gardens are very wintry, impossible to cut the grass in the wet, we will as soon as we can. We will take a look at the damp patch, not sure why the bin was tipped up unless it was windy. Hope you found your stay enjoyable despite these issues, and we very much hope you will return. We have many guests like yourselves that have returned numerous times.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1womble
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A good stay. Could be fantastic but needs a little attention in some areas.”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage and used it as a base for trips out to visit Longleat and Bath. Had a fun time, but really struggled with how uncomfortable the bed was, which kept us both awake. I note one previous review saying similar. The owner kindly gave us a spare duvet to put down under the sheet to make it more comfortable (our request), which helped a lot. Lovely fresh white linen and towels. Welcome pack of bread, milk, tea etc was appreciated.

Living area lovely and light thanks to the big window and well furnished. Kitchen good. Downstairs cloakroom good. Upstairs bathroom in real need of refurbishment.

Overall a good base and pretty grounds. We would visit again if mattress / bathroom renewed. And would recommend to a friend on same basis.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Thank you for your comments and pleased you enjoyed your stay. This is only the second comment we have had about the mattress in 10 years, so struggling as to why is seemed uncomfortable, we will go have a sleep on it! One bathroom has been refurbished, the others are in line.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoeMB80
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage, location and scenery”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in September 2013

Stayed here as a base for visiting Longleat. Lovely holiday accommodation, nicely furnished, welcome basket of goodies on arrival. Great views and ride on toys for young children, friendly owners dog. Lovely pub, fish & chip shop and farm shops nearby,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and surroundings
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Great to hear you had a great stay. The facilities are great for families, relaxed with home comforts and we try to be on hand when needed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing