We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Not ideal”
other travellers have booked this property
The cosy sitting room with log-burner
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cosy sitting room with log-burner
The dining area The kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
The cosy sitting room with log-burner
The dining area
The kitchen
The master bedroom
The master bedroom
The second bedroom
The second bedroom
Bathroom refitted 2017
The back bedroom refurbished 2018
The en-suite shower room installed in 2018
The lower courtyard
A shady area to relax in the garden
The terraced garden
The garden in Spring
The deck
View along New Street outside Patchwork
Appledore - from the Instow Ferry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Appledore, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Not ideal”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Accommodation perfect everything one could want in the cottage, parking a little difficult if you have a big car.
On arrival finding cottage no problem, but finding Backfield was difficult, no road names, would have been better if you were directed to track alongside fire station.
Off loading at rear of property was down a sloping path and numerous steps 30/40 yards.fortunately it was fine when we arrived in wet weather could be hazardous, not really suitable for infirm or disabled people.
Wifi reception excellent phone poor to non existent

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2017
Thank you for taking time to post a review. I'm pleased you liked the cottage but sorry you found the access difficult.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
Thank you for your kind words. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope I can welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Patchwork”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely cottage in a lovely village. We were there for the village festival and the parade and music were fantastic. Great week.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope I can welcome you back again soon. Thanks again for choosing to stay at Patchwork.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful characterful cottage - those whom it suits will love it.”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We really enjoyed our stay in Patchwork Cottage. It is very traditional and quaint, yet beautifully refurbished and maintained. The beds are comfy, the furniture is high quality and the kitchen is very well equipped. Excellent wifi and smart TV (two of them) are provided, along with a games console if that floats your boat. Sara was very prompt with her communications and left us a nice welcome pack.

Nevertheless it might not suit everyone. As stated in the details, the stairs are quite steep, and the garden has a lot of steps. It is only a couple of hundred yards' walk to the Appledore quayside, but 20 or so of those yards are a steep hill. Whilst it is great (and unusual) to have a parking space at an Appledore cottage, be aware that the access to that space is steep and narrow, and the space itself is quite small - our car overhung the neighbour's space and I left a note of my phone number on his car saying to call if it was a problem - I didn't hear from him. I'm not sure if he was a resident or another holiday tenant. If you are a two car household, think about taking your smaller car. When you arrive, you need to carry all your luggage down the garden steps to the house, and back when you leave.

But provided you can cope with those practical issues, it's a lovely cottage. The top level of the garden in particular is a lovely spot on a warm evening, with a great view.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2017
Thank you for your review and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort, thoughtful touches and welcoming atmosphere.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking time to post a review and for your kind words. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and would be very pleased to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing