We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Appledore, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PilatesH
stourbridge
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 25 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and myself stayed at Gannets Nest in April this year for 1 week. Not knowing much about Appledore itself beforehand we didn’t know what to expect. We were so impressed with the 3 story cottage itself and it’s fabulous location, right on the estuary. Very peaceful, beautifully kept and well equipped. We frequented the local Pub, The Beaver which we found not only friendly but served great food and only 2 minutes walk from the cottage. There are a fair few other local eateries too which we discovered and also enjoyed. Super spot to discover North Devon. Places we went to were, Westward Ho, Woolacombe, Torrington, Hartland Point & Quay, National Trust (Arlington) & Clovelly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raindios1
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This beautiful cottage stole our hearts...”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

It would appear that previous comments have been taken into consideration and even the weather was orchestrated for our stay! A week of glorious sunshine, an inviting cottage with a balcony on the estuary, the local Inn a stroll away. Day One – it was at this very Inn that we encountered the builder from next door and after much liquid refreshment agreed that singing and bashing would not commence until later in the mornings. The notes in each of the rooms are very useful and we settled into our holiday cottage very quickly. Before travelling we spoke with Maggie the Property Manager who lives a few streets away and is on hand to assist with wi-fi, recycling and light bulbs. In fact, we left a charger, Maggie called us and came to the Inn to return it (we didn’t leave Appledore immediately). It was a fabulous week and we are longing to be at Gannets Nest watching the boats, walking the beach, eating on the balcony, making friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
Thank you for your great review. Have you re-booked Gannets Nest yet? Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Choice Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 17 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Quirky and delightful cottage with simply stunning views!
Wonderful week stay ...cottage is well equipped..though the landing light is still not working Spent happy hours on the balcony deck. My Hubby treated the cutlery draw to a bottle opener would definitely return & Appledore is gorgeous!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Thank you for your review and thanks for the bottle opener!
We will remind the property manager about the landing light.
Kind regards
Choice Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SANDRA C
1 review
“A COTTAGE THAT NEEDS SOME TLC!”
Reviewed 10 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We weren't helped by the wet weather and would have appreciated some basic comforts , starting with a warm welcome not lots of notes scattered around to indicate how we should behave . Working lights in the hall and on the landing would have been a luxury !! On the other hand there were no helpful directives regarding disposal of rubbish , use if wi-fi . It should have been a quiet spot but as builders are renovating the cottage next door , from 8am there was hammering , banging , singing and shouting, with total disregard for others .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
Dear Sandra
We have passed on your comments to the property manager of Gannets Nest, including the builder issue. We await their response.

Kind regards
Choice Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindalou6...
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning Cottage”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed at this fabulous cottage for a week when visiting Appledore. The cottage is situated on Irsha Street, overlooking the river estuary and having stunning views of the river and the village.
The cottage is well equipped, washing machine, dishwasher etc. and very comfortable. There are a lot of stairs so may not be good for people with mobility problems. The bathroom is downstairs from the sitting room and the bedrooms are accessed by another staircase. We found it to be very clean when we arrived and it was nice to find coffee and tea and milk in the fridge. We were tempted to light the little wood burning stove but it never got quite cold enough.
The view from the bedroom at the back of the house is breathtaking

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing