We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A home from home by the sea”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pear Tree Cottage

Welcome to Pear Tree Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Pear Tree Cottage
Kitchen Private courtyard where Pear Tree Cottage is located
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Welcome to Pear Tree Cottage
Kitchen
Private courtyard where Pear Tree Cottage is located
Communal Garden with seating, swing bench and BBQ
Ship Ahoy in the Courtyard
Richmond Dry Dock
Bude Street, Appledore
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Appledore, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Juliet F
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
“A home from home by the sea”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Would like to say thank you so much to Paula and Noel, we had a great time. The cottage was gorgeous and a welcome gift of scones and clotted cream was just a perfect start to a great family holiday. We found Appledore a very friendly village with a great pub The Seagate which welcomes children, two great chippies . A day trip to Lundy Island was great although if you are expecting to see puffins don't go as they left two weeks ago !!!

Paula and Noel are great hosts just there if you need them and a very lovely couple. Thank you for such a perfect holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully decorated and secluded cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma-Nuge...
2 reviews
“Excellent cottage/location & dog friendly !!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Pear tree cottage was a lovely 2 bedroom cottage based in a beautiful court yard, with a great garden with plenty of seating area, where we enjoyed our wine & scones which was left as a welcome gift for us.
The cottage is fully equipped with everything you need and is so cosy. It's like a home from home!
Our dog absolutely had the best time ever. The owners live in the court yard too and are so welcoming and friendly with 2 beautiful dogs themselves.
The cottages is around a 20
Second walk to the sea front where our dog loved swimming everyday. All the pubs in Appledore accept dogs so they can be with you all day, as they are on holiday too!
The ferry service to Instow is great and the beach there is lovely and sandy.
There is a great atmosphere in Appledore and we had fantastic accommodation which made it even better. Can honestly say it's one of the best holidays I've had. Totally recommend PEAR TREE COTTAGE!!! Especially if your going as a group as there are 3 cottages to rent in the courtyard.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8JJames
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage hidden away in great location!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Pear Tree Cottage is a fantastic cottage, hidden away in a great location right in the centre of Appledore. The cottage has a beautiful shared communal garden which is an added bonus and is quite rare for rented cottages in Appledore, our dog thoroughly enjoyed it. Owners are great hosts and made us feel really welcome, we will definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SamW08
Polesworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, with delightful hosts”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
3
people found this review helpful

I have just returned from a lovely week in Appledore with my Mum 12 year old daughter and our dog. We stayed in Appletree cottage, which was beautful, and immaculate. A real home from home and a peaceful haven to relax in. There was a cream tea and a bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived.....what more could you ask for. The hosts Paula and Noel were always available and on hand if ever you needed anything, and never intrusive. The cottage sits in a secret courtyard, the garden was lovely with an amazing swing seat to chill on. We've all come back very relaxed and looking forward to a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and the comfy bed
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing