We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
55
69
36
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
69
36
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shopping mall hotel smari the bus business park hotel is located business district tgi fridays reception staff pizza hut minute walk no frills hotel nights adequate size great budget hotel fresh fruit pleasant stay great selection
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2018

As you may have found out when searching for a place to stay in Reyjkavik, most accommodations in the city center have shared bathrooms for guests and breakfast is optional. So if you're the type who prefers to have your own bathroom and breakfast included, then the Smari is for you. There's just one catch: it's about 20-30 mins. by bus from the city center, not counting the waiting time. On the other hand, it's a 5-minute walk to the Smariland mall.

The hotel itself is clean, comfortable, with a delightful staff who helped and advised me with my requests and questions. The room I got had just the right size, good bed and pillows, TV, complimentary coffee maker, liquid bath soap but there was no mini-bar, no in-room safe or other toiletries. The shower puts out naturally heated water (it's Iceland after all), the breakfast buffet was average and repetitive and the complimentary wifi is reasonably fast.

When you book local tours online, be aware that Smari is often not in the list of hotels that tour buses collect/drop off guests. So as not to worry about catching the tour somewhere else, consider Gray Line (it's a reputable company anyway).

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSmari, Front desk at Hotel Smari, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear Bobpal,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We do value comments such as yours as we always seek ways to improve our rooms and service. We have already taken steps to improve our guests experiences and we are looking forward to see you again!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

Great hotel, but a little on the outskirts. Love the breakfast everyday. A cab will cost around $25-30 each way into downtown. I took the bus and it was $ 8.00 roundtrip and takes 20 min. Great staff, they sell the bus tickets at reception. Also, most of my tours picked me up as well.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSmari, Front desk at Hotel Smari, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear Kai L,

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

Best regards,

Oi Yan
Front desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

This hotel was simple yet clean in a business district of Reykjavik. While the hotel is beside a main road and easy to drive to it is not in City Center or near a tourist area (those are about a 15 minute drive away). We were able to park right out the front door, so hauling luggage was a breeze. The lobby is small but opens up in the mornings for breakfast which was the best thing about this hotel. The breakfast was delicious, filling, and offered a wide variety of foods for even the most picky of eaters. The bathrooms in the hotel rooms were small by American standards but on par with European standards. This is a no frills hotel but nice, clean, with friendly staff.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jackson N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSmari, Reception at Hotel Smari, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Dear Jackson,

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Staff are so helpfully breakfast was good we had a really pleasant stay. Would defo stay here if I ever returned to Iceland. Iceland on the other hand I would not return, to expensive not very pretty as I expected.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Trixie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSmari, Reception at Hotel Smari, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Dear Trixie,

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

The hotel is situated outside Reykjavik so getting around is a bit difficult and you will probably need a car. The hotel is a bit dated and not the cleanest but the beds are comfortable and the bathroom is okay. It is quiet at night so you will get a good night sleep. The breakfast was fantastic. Shame about the location but if you plan to go on a guided tour it should not be too big of a problem. There is also a shopping mall nearby which is convenient if you would like to go shopping or go get an affordable meal as in the centre of Reykjavik the food gets a bit pricey. Overall a good value for money, even though the location is inconvenient.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews