We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Friendly & Peaceful Location with Great Views”
other travellers have booked this property
The house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house
The house LIving room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
The house
The house
LIving room
living room
living room
kitchen
bedroom
bedroom
second bedroom
bathroom
bathtoom
courtyard
landscape Etna
green meadow
green meadow
pool with views of Mount Etna
pool
green meadow
mountain Serra
mountain Serra
vineyard
Vineyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Viagrande, Province of Catania, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
LozWilson
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly & Peaceful Location with Great Views”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was my first trip to Sicily and I wanted to make sure I was near Mount Etna; I can say that the accommodation delivered on that and much more.

On arriving at the accommodation we were met by the most hospitable owners, our flight had been delayed and this has meant we were later than expected to the accommodation but the owners where there waiting for us and made sure that we knew how everything worked within the Villa and even left us a bottle of wine.

I would say the pictures do not do justice to the accommodation as the accommodation was much bigger than we expected and the views are absolutely amazing.

In regards to the location, it is easy accessible by car to the town where you will find two supermarkets and a few restaurants and bars, the only issue is that you would need to drive there and there would be no possibility of walking to the nearest restaurant, the owners did leave some flyers for restaurants so that at least you knew of places and thankfully the accommodation had WIFI so I was able to use my IPAD to search for several more plus also plan for our daily excursions to various sites in the area.

The accommodation is on a working vineyard and we did try some of the wine while we were there, unfortunately the shop is only opened on Sunday but we did ask the owner for a couple of bottles during our stay and he was more than happy to oblige with a couple of bottles which were very reasonably priced.

I would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone that would be wanting to visit Mount Etna or are looking for a relaxing and peaceful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location meant it was easily accessible to Mount Etna
Liked least: Location of bars and restaurants from the accommodation meant you had to drive
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2014
Thank you for your positive review and for personal appreciations.
We are glad that you have enjoyed at our holiday home and we hope to host you in the future.
Michele, Gae, Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
Ilkley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The house is spacious, very well-equipped and very clean. It has all the amenities we required except for a kettle which was provided when we asked. There is a lovely view of Etna. The lawned area is very nice but the pool is useless for swimming, only for cooling off. The owners are delightful people, friendly, helpful, unobtrusive and generous - they gave us some lovely granita and a superb cake during our stay.
It is because they were so nice that it is difficult to raise our concerns, but they are important ones.
Just after 7 am on our first morning we were awakened by loud hammering. To our considerable consternation we discovered that the owners are building a second holiday home right next to the one we were in. For the next two weeks we had to endure all the noise of a building site, banging, hammering, sawing, visits by concrete mixers and waggons etc. every working day except one. We found this quite unacceptable but there was nothing that could be done. The owners apologised but that was it. The building work will continue throughout 2014. We feel it is quite wrong to hire out a holiday cottage which is praised for its tranquillity when you know that building work will destroy that. We feel we have been cheated.
On our second day we were sitting on the terrace when a large rat appeared from the adjoining wall and ran across us and into the undergrowth. This happened at least two or three times every day we were there. There was also another kind of jumping rat that made intermittent appearances. The rats always appeared very suddenly and unexpectedly and meant that sitting on the terrace was, for one of us, out of the question. When we complained about this the owners did not really seem concerned saying it was because we were 'a campagna', in the country. Leaving aside the fact that the location is not really in the country, more in the extended suburbs of Catania (there are several modern detached houses adjoining the property), how can the presence of rats in a holiday property ever be acceptable?
There are also several dogs in the area that break out into prolonged bouts of barking either singly or in groups at any time of day or night, even the middle of the night. One starts at 5.30 am every day and continues for about 15 minutes.
There is very little of interest in the surrounding area which is pretty drab and blighted by the unsightly rubbish and fly-tipping that is such a problem in many parts of Sicily. Taormina is about an hour away, Etna the same and Siracusa about two hours. The local roads are a complete nightmare.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities in the house and the lawn
Liked least: The building site and the rats.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
Thank you for the appreciations for the cleannes of the house and for our kindness. We want to underline that for us it is very important to receive suggestions from our guests; this gets us to improve our facility! However, we are really sorry for the costernation you showed. As a matter of fact we think that many things written are false and derogatory.

First of all we confirm that there is a building work place near the holiday home. Actually when our guests booked the home we didn'd know building work will be last until their stay. However we couldn't stop them for some burocratics problems. But we tried to reduce noises and to don't make noise during the rest time. What is more we asked sorry many times and we offered to give back part of the amount paied for the stay.

Secondly, the swimming pool is a 7,40 x 4,80 swimming pool. This is bigger than the one represented on the photo of the website at the time of you did reservation.

As for rats and dogs: "Rat" is probably a little mouse living in the country ( not a rubbish rat ). Our guests spend many time in our garden but it is the first time we hear about this! However our holiday home is situated in the country and for this reason we, periodically make the deratization of the whole territory. And please...."jumping rats" they are sure nice harmless ferrets!!!

As for dogs, it is true that in the surroundings there are some dogs, but we have never received any complain about them in the past.
Then, it is untrue that our structure "is not located in the country more in the exteded suburbs of catania": infact the suburb of Catania is far away at least 15 km from our location and our house is located in the middle of an ancient vineyard, at the foot of an old volcano just next to the "Monteserra park". However it is true that in the surroundings there are some modern detached house!

What is more they say that "in the surroundigs there are little thing to see". If you spend all of your time closed at home it is impossible to discover the surroundings. Infact just in front of our house there is the really interesting "Etna Museum", and the "Monteserra park" with the "House of Butterfly". And then, in 10/20 minutes by car you can reach some beautiful villages such as Trecastagni, Zafferana, Acireale and its "barocco"the "Timpa" and many little villages near the sea: Santa Tecla, Santa Maria La Scala, Acitrezza, Acicastello. And a little far away Catania, Taormina, Siracusa, Ortigia, Noto etc etc.

Finally, you use words such as "cheated" and "pretty drab" that are extremely offensive for us! We are honest people and we have never received any complain about our structure, as a matter of fact with our great pleasure the reviews our guests wrote on the web sites "holidayletting.com" "tripadvisor.com" and more of all "homeaway.com" ARE ALL "FIVE STARS".

Taking everything into consideration we feel to agree with the title given to this review “not what we expected” because it is obvious that you had a completely different ideas of what was our holiday house, however we don't know where this difference of expectations came because we make a and accurate description of our facility also on the website you used to make the reservation.

In the end we wish you find in the future solutions more appropriate to your needs.

Sincerely

Casa vacanze Dietroserra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jk516
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect views of Etna from fabulous and well equipped villa”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We recently spent 10 days at this superb accommodation. It has a glorious terrace with views of the volcano and surrounding countryside. We ate daily breakfast and dinner al fresco on this terrace in full sunshine. There was a pool to cool off in and a luscious glade with BBQ and seating. Set in a working vineyard the owners gave us a guided tour of the old winery operation and their house red was delicious. The owners were very hospitable and gave us fresh linen, fruit and granita! The villa was spacious and well kept, with plenty of room to sleep six comfortably. Cooking facilities were excellent and very clean. Well situated for both Taormina (we especially recommend the 'Gorge Alcantara') and very close rocky beach at St Tecla. And all only 30mins from Catania airport. Highly recommended! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful setting
Liked least: Nothing not to like!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborah r
hastings
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing setting, wonderful owners”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled with our 20 year old daughter who had to do some research on Mt Etna for her university dissertation and the location was supurb. Easy access to the volcano and the sea made sightseeing easy.
Our plane was delayed which meant that we got caught up in the Saturday night traffic and arrived in the dark which meant finding the 'green gate' was a little tricky but we got there eventually.
The owners of the property met us and showed us around, the description on the website is completly acurate, the garden with it's amazing view of Etna and the pool, which is not huge but cools you off on a hot day. The house was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed.
The house is situated on a family run vinyard and the owners gave us a bottle of their decicious wine on arrival. The pool was cleaned and treated every day, the hosts are there if you need them but do not impose, and one evening brought us some of the most wonderful Granita and nut filled brioch bread I have ever tasted.
You need a car to make the most of your stay here we enjoyed a day trips to Taoromina, Catania & Syracuse and also visited some of the mountain towns. A visit to the volcano and cable car is a must.
Thank you Maria and family for a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2013
We thank you for your positive review, it was really appreciated by us. it was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you soon.

Maria e Gae

We thank you for your positive review, it was really appreciated by us. it was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you soon.

Best wishes
Maria and Gae
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiziana M
Sassari, Sardegna, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing