We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely French Countryside Gite”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The entrance to Le Coquelicot Lounge area with comfortable seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The entrance to Le Coquelicot
Lounge area with comfortable seating
Plenty of room in the new kitchen and dining area
The main bedroom with king-size bed
The main bedroom
The twin room
The double bedroom
The shower room
Time for tea or coffee?
Eating In.....
The games room
The patio area
The above-ground pool
The rear garden
From the top of the garden
A nice spot to sit
The front garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hambye, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Caroline...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely French Countryside Gite”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed here recently with a group of 5 for a friends wedding. The location is perfect being about a hours drive from the ferry port and very rural and quiet however a short drive away from the small town of Hambye where you can buy everything you need. The gite was very large and clean and had all of the emenities you need for a very comfortable stay, the beds were also extreemly comfortable and were perfect for the end of a long day. The garden was very large and was perfect for relaxing, playing badminton and lots of bbq's. The owners were lovely and welcoming and I definately would like to stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to welcome you all here again. We now have a pool (above-ground) in the rear garden, which I know you would enjoy! And the sausages from the butcher's were pretty good too...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the area of theproperty
Liked least: nothing everyrthing was spot on
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Jun 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments; we very much enjoyed your company and look forward to seeing you here again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bargates
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay in Normandy”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Stayed here with 3 friends for a week chose this Gite as close to the place where we were going to a wedding . We had a very comfortable stay 3 good sized bedrooms , fully equipped kitchen & cosy living area . Lovely gardens front & back . The owners Anne & David were lovely & very helpful about places to visit & where to eat . There was a welcome pack of eggs , ham , milk , cheese , butter , bread & cider . Lovely countryside le mont st michel is well worth a visit & the sea about 20 minutes away . Would definitely recommend this Gite to stay .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. You had such wonderful weather for the wedding, and the bride did look very beautiful. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubdub10
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice grounds but VERY small kitchen area”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

When we arrived at the gite we realised why no pictures of the kitchen were posted with the description. We had assumed it would be similar to the kitchen in the gite next door; after all, the descriptions were similar and so was the price. Unless you were under 3ft tall, you would get a bruised head or painful neck as almost the entire kitchen area was under the stairs. The freestanding cooker was right next to the back door. With pans bubbling away and a red hot oven and little ones running in and out into the garden, there was a nasty accident waiting to happen.
Upstairs was more or less as expected; the rooms were a decent size and the beds were comfortable, though there was dirt and grime on the floorboards.
We were also challenged with the huge numbers of flies, not helped by the gites surrounded by fields of cows. Fly screens over both the doors would have reduced this problem significantly, but there were none.
The exposed brickwork downstairs further proved a problem for our young children. The corners were sharp and we had to take measures by sticking bubble wrap over them. The red rug in the lounge was grubby and because of that we didn't want our children to play on it.
We go to France often to enjoy the fresh produce, seafood and wine as well as to chill and visit some attractions. On this occasion, we were only able to do the latter. The kitchen was extremely challenging for anything other than a microwave meal and because of the aforementioned issues, we found it hard to relax. Consequently we cut short our holiday and went home early.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good size grounds with children's swings/ climbing frame and see saw.
Liked least: Kitchen area
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2013
We were really saddened to read your review of our property as we take great pride in our accommodation, ensuring that everything is freshly cleaned and tidied before each guest arrival, including supplying a welcome box of fresh bread, milk, butter, cheese, eggs and other items to fulfil your initial needs. If, and when, guests have specific needs we are more than happy to accommodate any reasonable request to ensure a perfect stay. The same principle applies to any issues raised during a visit; indeed, had we been given the opportunity to do so, we would have been more than happy to wash floors and steam clean rugs again in response to your request. It is regrettable that you did not advise us of your concerns.
The gite is clearly advertised as rural accommodation and offers beautiful exposed granite stone walls, wooden beams, and stained floorboards. All of these features are apparent in the photographs on both this website and our own. We were surprised that you thought it necessary to bring with you a supply of bubble wrap, but, as we try to accommodate all needs, we had no concerns with your applying this to the walls. This was something you had clearly considered before your arrival.
With regard to your comments concerning the kitchen area, regrettably this photograph was deleted in error but it has now been reinstated, and whilst we agree that this area is compact it provides you with all you would need to prepare a family meal. That said, we are planning to completely re-configure the downstairs area of the gite over the winter period. Photographs will be uploaded as soon as the work has been completed.
As with any rural property you can expect to find flies in the summer months; we spray our properties at the beginning of the season and in between guest arrivals to ensure that you are not inconvenienced over much. However, it is impossible to completely eradicate them.
Whilst we were very understanding of your need to leave early due to a family emergency, we were disappointed at the condition of the gite immediately following your departure. An oversight on our part meant that you had not paid your damages deposit, which, in the event, we would have been unable to return to you due to the high number of breakages of equipment and poor cleanliness.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxxKarenx...
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended beautiful gite in Normandy”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Having just returned from our wonderful break at La Maison Sans Soucis, just had to write a few lines...
We arrived to a very warm welcome from Ann, who was always very happy to help in any way ((she also very kindly arranged our homebound vets appointment - thank you Ann!) to find a beautiful gite set in fabulous grounds. All the rooms are a great size, a lovely home from home. A perfect base to explore Normandy. We spent a great day at Mont St Michel and enjoyed the D Day beaches and magnificent coastline, about 1 hr drive. We would highly recommend this gite to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly Host
Liked least: No internet connection
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2013
Thank you for your lovely review; it was great fun watching the dogs get to know each other! We very much look forward to welcoming you here again and hopefully for a longer stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing