We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Quiet Countryside Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Our (white) house and wooden Kaakberg
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our (white) house and wooden Kaakberg
The Kaakberg front Outdoor spa (Sundance Caprio)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Our (white) house and wooden Kaakberg
The Kaakberg front
Outdoor spa (Sundance Caprio)
Spa in the snow
Beach 50 meters away.
View on the lake
Sitting area Bed room downstairs
Bedroom downstairs
Kitchen
Kitchen Kaakberg
first floor living
Living
Living
Second floor bedroom
Bath room upstairs
Sauna
Sauna resting space
Private Sauna
Biking along the dike
View on the lake
Garden and terrace
Neighbors Horses
Bowflex work out
View backside
Your entrance Kaakberg
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Warder, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Yvette_Ha...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Quiet Countryside Stay”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Country & Lake was the ideal place to spend a relaxed week in the countryside. With magical views over the Ijsselmeer and the farmlands and dykes around Edam, this haven is beautifully appointed and maintained with every necessary convenience. What a wonderful place to wake up in the morning! The position is very quiet, with only the gentle sounds of the birds and sheep to disturb your sleep. Walking and reading are natural pursuits here, but there are some good places to eat in nearby Edam, and it is a short bus ride to the centre of Amsterdam if you want to enjoy the bustle and stimulation of the city as well.

Saskia and Onny are brilliant hosts, thoughtful and welcoming, with excellent attention to all the details that make the difference in quality, and also giving guests the space to make their time their own. Their communication was excellent and all the necessary maps, brochures, tourist information and other details are provided, as well as good speed internet.

The space itself is both simple and luxurious. The private spa with sauna, hot tub and space for some yoga is great for unwinding whatever the weather, and the well-appointed kitchen/dining room has everything you need to make self-catering a breeze. The upstairs bedroom is spacious and welcoming with a most comfortable bed, and lovely linen, and of course the spectacular views in all directions! You won't want to close your curtains. The downstairs bedroom, with access to separate bathroom facilities is useful if you need to house a family rather than simply a couple.

I would certainly highly recommend this beautiful, well-maintained property to anyone wanting a quiet time out in the countryside, where they can feel pampered and special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful views from the bedroom
Liked least: Taking my too large suitcase up to the third storey level!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful quiet rural retreat with easy access to Amsterdam. Perfect.”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Kaakberg is a beautifully appointed quiet home across the road from the historic dike of Ijsselmeer, and looking onto fields of sheep and cattle. The nearby town of Edam is just half an hour by bus to Amsterdam, and so one can elect to enjoy the attractions of the city or stay home to relax. A perfect place for a creative retreat. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home and gardens
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jenni F
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT location, clean with all the conveniences!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

For the past 12 years, we have travelled every year and have rented a house in some part of Europe. Country & Lake is by far the BEST rental we have stayed in. There is no doubt that we will be back next year.My husband and I spent the first week in April in the 3-level barn-house. The views are stunning. The view from the living room area (2nd floor) overlooks the wetlands (green-green fields), which we found to be incredibly peaceful and relaxing to watch. We loved to see the ducks, geese and other interesting birds flying around, feeding (and nesting, apparently) in the field. The farmer next door has horses, a pony and sheep, which hang-out in right in front of the huge picturesque windows. There were lambs this time of the year and it was really entertaining to watch them run around (they reminded us of puppies; following one another, tearing back-and-forth). The view from the master bedroom on the 3rd floor overlooked the Lake, which offered a whole different perspective and reminded us of how inventive the Dutch have been, managing the sea! The lower level offers a sauna and a really wonderful spa-type room, which I really enjoyed sitting in late afternoon, when the sun streamed in. In addition to the gorgeous views, we enjoyed watching the children bicycling to school every morning and the enthusiastic cyclists who used the country road, also visible from the 2nd floor living room area.
The house has ALL the conveniences and was spectacularly clean and comfortable. Onny and Saskia are warm hosts (and Fred, their cat), always ready to help.
The area is charming and there is a lot to explore; the local stores, supermarkets, bakeries and general feel is very rural. Oh, and the very narrow bridges can prove quite challenging by car (it helps to have mirrors that retract), although there were other routes to avoid the village bridges.
While the property is secluded (which we look for in a property), it was easy to be in the throng of community and navigate the small towns. It was very easy to get into Amsterdam by car (although I understand that transportation by bus is also very easy to manage). After our week at Country & Lake, we boarded a 10 day Viking River Cruise with stops in The Netherlands and Belgium. The cruise was truly wonderful, but my husband and I both agree: if we were to do it over, we would have preferred to spend our 2 and 1/2 week vacation staying-put, in Warden at THIS property.
Thanks, Saskia and Onny!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness
Liked least: Stairs - we were not used to stairs in a house
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Reviewed 4 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Aug 2013
Thank you for your nice review. From 2014 we have added a seperate second bedroom, downstairs.
So four adults can sleep now very comfortable. There are still two sofa beds if you want to come with two more people.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing