We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful quiet rural retreat with easy access to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Our house and wooden Kaakberg
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our house and wooden Kaakberg
Beach 50 meters away. Bath room upstairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Our house and wooden Kaakberg
Beach 50 meters away.
Bath room upstairs
Kaakberg dining
2nd bedroom downstairs two seperate beds
Outdoor spa (Sundance Caprio)
Private Sauna
Terrace downstairs
Livingroom Kaakberg
Kitchen Kaakberg
Bowflex work out
Spa in the snow
Biking along the dike
View on the lake
Living with sofa beds if necessairy
Living Kaakberg
Kitchen Kaakberg
Your entrance Kaakberg
Chairs upstairs with view over the lake
Neighbors Horses
View on the lake
View backside
Bedroom 2nd floor view views from 4 sides
Sitting area Bed room downstairs
Backside, black building is the Kaakberg
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Warder, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Simon S
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful quiet rural retreat with easy access to Amsterdam. Perfect.”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Kaakberg is a beautifully appointed quiet home across the road from the historic dike of Ijsselmeer, and looking onto fields of sheep and cattle. The nearby town of Edam is just half an hour by bus to Amsterdam, and so one can elect to enjoy the attractions of the city or stay home to relax. A perfect place for a creative retreat. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home and gardens
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jenni F
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT location, clean with all the conveniences!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

For the past 12 years, we have travelled every year and have rented a house in some part of Europe. Country & Lake is by far the BEST rental we have stayed in. There is no doubt that we will be back next year.My husband and I spent the first week in April in the 3-level barn-house. The views are stunning. The view from the living room area (2nd floor) overlooks the wetlands (green-green fields), which we found to be incredibly peaceful and relaxing to watch. We loved to see the ducks, geese and other interesting birds flying around, feeding (and nesting, apparently) in the field. The farmer next door has horses, a pony and sheep, which hang-out in right in front of the huge picturesque windows. There were lambs this time of the year and it was really entertaining to watch them run around (they reminded us of puppies; following one another, tearing back-and-forth). The view from the master bedroom on the 3rd floor overlooked the Lake, which offered a whole different perspective and reminded us of how inventive the Dutch have been, managing the sea! The lower level offers a sauna and a really wonderful spa-type room, which I really enjoyed sitting in late afternoon, when the sun streamed in. In addition to the gorgeous views, we enjoyed watching the children bicycling to school every morning and the enthusiastic cyclists who used the country road, also visible from the 2nd floor living room area.
The house has ALL the conveniences and was spectacularly clean and comfortable. Onny and Saskia are warm hosts (and Fred, their cat), always ready to help.
The area is charming and there is a lot to explore; the local stores, supermarkets, bakeries and general feel is very rural. Oh, and the very narrow bridges can prove quite challenging by car (it helps to have mirrors that retract), although there were other routes to avoid the village bridges.
While the property is secluded (which we look for in a property), it was easy to be in the throng of community and navigate the small towns. It was very easy to get into Amsterdam by car (although I understand that transportation by bus is also very easy to manage). After our week at Country & Lake, we boarded a 10 day Viking River Cruise with stops in The Netherlands and Belgium. The cruise was truly wonderful, but my husband and I both agree: if we were to do it over, we would have preferred to spend our 2 and 1/2 week vacation staying-put, in Warden at THIS property.
Thanks, Saskia and Onny!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness
Liked least: Stairs - we were not used to stairs in a house
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Reviewed 4 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Aug 2013
Thank you for your nice review. From 2014 we have added a seperate second bedroom, downstairs.
So four adults can sleep now very comfortable. There are still two sofa beds if you want to come with two more people.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WideEyedT...
Palo Alto, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Stunning place with views of lake and fields”
Reviewed 8 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

If you have ever wanted to try life in a tower, stay here. The third floor bedroom has windows on all four sides with fantastic views and lots of clean breezes rushing through. The high ceiling makes it even airer.
From the second floor, you can enjoy vistas of horses and cows and canals. This is big sky country with clouds racing overhead and green fields below. A neighboring farmer trains horses. The kitchen and living room are on this level, so we did most of our living here. The kitchen is fine for stovetop cooking, but the oven seems microwave.
Ground floor has a private bathroom that was much appreciated as well as a sauna that leads to a patio with a hot tub. One fine night, we had dinner on the patio.
To sum up, this place has many positives. The setting and nice architecture, as mentioned before. Also, the owners are genial and interesting, directors of a local theatre group. They picked us up at the Edam bus station and provided us with a bit of starter food which was helpful. We got around on bikes which they provided. We purchased most of our food in Edam at the local small shops. One evening when we were out on the patio, we had some conversations (in English). Otherwise, they were either at work or invisible. If you want proximity to Amsterdam, it is a twenty minute bus ride from Edam.
Drawbacks: My husband did not like the bathroom that joined the bedroom because it didn't feel private enough. He used the first floor bathoom.I didn't mind, and liked the big bathtub. This place has lots of stairs, as do most places in Holland. If stairs are a problem, stay away. If you rent the extra apt, as we did for our friend who was traveling with us, it is older and does not have the light, airy feeling. She spent most of her time in the nicer apt with us. Finally, it rained and stormed most days of our visit in late June. I think it was abnormal, but maybe this part of Holland has terrible weather. Hard to say.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: WatchIng the horses from our windows
Liked least: My husband had trouble with the bathroom on the third floor, as it had no real door. There was a fiRst floor bath that was more private, though.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2012
Thank you for your nice review. The joined bath room in the second bedroom was kept open to see the architecture of the kaakberg roof, which is beautiful to see. We can understand it is not so private, but that was the choice. From 2014 we have added a seperate second bedroom, downstairs. So four adults can sleep now very comfortable. There are still two sofa beds if you want to come with two more people, The other apartment is not rented out anymore.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing