We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
97
15
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
15
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub eggs log cabin mountain lodge cape town in advance attention to detail get away our honeymoon wood fire the hustle and bustle coming back glass of wine beautiful view an absolute delight gas stove romantic escape
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2018

I wish I could give KolKol 10 stars! Our expectations were fairly high after we waited almost a year to get a booking... and, we were completely blown away. Everything is just perfect and we couldn't have asked for a more perfect weekend away! :)

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katelighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

A romantic place to get away - and only a short distance from Cape Town.

Love the wooden structures and the hot tub as well as the peace and quiet :)

Popular place and always booked up.

Can be loads of flies in summer and very hot!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Slinky-WP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Fantastic! Best ever accomodation. It is a must to experience this! We tried for 3 years to get an open weekend. Stayed for 3 nights in Brunia. Shall return again! Free milk, farm butter, eggs, rusks. Firewood, luxuary linen, bathroom wonderful. Natural interiar decoration brings you back to nature.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Karina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Hello,

My family (2 small children) stayed here for Christmas Eve and Day and we had the best time. The cabin is so incredibly cozy and has everything you need to cook, relax, and play. I loved the view from our bedroom and the hot tub off the deck was perfect for our little kids and an excellent way to end the day with a glass of wine! Bonus is the nearby lion sanctuary - you can actually hear the lions roaring throughout the night. Remarkable! Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Breanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

My wife, son (1.5 years old) and I stayed at this unique lodge for two nights. We had the Pincushion cabin, which is probably the most private one. The cabin is lovingly built from local materials. Creativity and thoughtfulness are evident in every detail, from the copper fixtures to the wood-fired hot tub. We cooked our meals over hot coals. During the day we played with our son in the warm water of the hot tub; in the evening we fired it up for a hot nighttime soak. The cool nighttime breezes carry the scent of the surrounding fynbos (full of wildflowers and birds) and make a perfect contrast to the waters and the faint smell of woodsmoke. Nearby we found the outstanding Luddite wine farm and the amazing Cornellskop Animal Encounters, where our son frolicked with a tiny monkey and sat on a zebra. The bed was firm and comfortable; the kitchen was well appointed; there was abundant firewood and starter-bricks; essential food items were in the fridge when we arrived and the owner generously supplied some fresh chicken because we had forgotten our own. The cottage isn't exactly child friendly: there is a unfenced drop of about a metre off the balcony and nothing around the hot tub. But we handled these adult features and had an absolutely fantastic time with our toddler. The owners were friendly and helpful. Our only difficulty was with the shower, which had temperature fluctuations that seemed to be impossible to control. We would highly recommend Kol Kol for a getaway both luxurious and rustic.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews