We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful peaceful location”
other travellers have booked this property
Enjoy the traquility of our lovely front garden with decking area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy the traquility of our lovely front garden with decking area
Five minutes walk from the village. Front living room with bed settee
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
Enjoy the traquility of our lovely front garden with decking area
Five minutes walk from the village.
Front living room with bed settee
Spacious family bathroom
Jaccuzi bath
Fitted kitchen
Kitchen
Rear sitting room with log burner stove
Double doors linking reception rooms
Front bedroom with fitted robes
Rear double bedroom
North Yorkshire Moors Railway
Beautiful in all weather
Lovely walks and tea gardens.  This is near Falling Foss.
The Rail Trail
Spot the residents
Sandsend Beach Whitby
Whitby Harbour
Whitby Abbey
A view of Grosmont Village
Birch Hall Inn Beck Hole
Runswick Bay
Go rock pooling and crabbing.
Fossils and wildlife at Robinhoods Bay
Fossils and Jet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Grosmont, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joy L
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful peaceful location”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for weekend wish it was longer lovely place for any age young or old. The owner has thought of every thing right home from home we needed for nothing I had taken stuff I didn't need to use because it was already there. Thank you so much Ruth we will be recommending your cottage to anyone who will listen.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay.

Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarce62
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Find”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

What a great little gem this property is. We booked mainly because of its location to the NYMR just down the road and Whitby. It was very well presented, clean, cosy and comfortable. It seems the owners had thought of everything especially in the kitchen and the tea,milk and biscuits were a lovely touch. We were 3 generations of family ages from 23 to 78 and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the cottage. We plan to return later in the year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and cosy character feature.
Liked least: The potholed road and access to steep driveway.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2016
Thank You.
Glad you enjoyed it. The reason we bought the proerty was because of it's great location.

Hope to see you again
Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilkoman2...
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent all round. Very clean and homely A+++”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Set in a lovely quiet location not far from Whitby and all the Coastal resorts. The owner was lovely and easy to contact. Everything we could have needed was there. Beds were comfy and clean. Loads of clean towels and extra bedding. Overall an excellent base to visit places and lots of lovely nearby walks. Many thanks Ruth!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and everything needed was already there
Liked least: No WiFi...but then...It was good to get away from it!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay.

Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor776
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing week”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Stayed at Lilac Cottage during the first week of August this year with our grandson.
The property is clean has plenty of room both upstairs and downstairs, nice kitchen and utility room, outside is a lovely decking area with seats and this catches the evening sun.
The owners have a shop in the village called steaming loco so easy to call in if you have any questions, the property is only about 5 minutes walk down to Grosmont station and is secluded down a little lane opposite Grosmont House Hotel making it very peaceful and relaxing.
We spent time on the NYMR to Whitby one day and caught the train to Goathland on another and walked back via the Rail Trail more downhill doing it this way.
Called at the Moors Centre near Danby for another enjoyable day out and also visited Robin Hoods Bay and Saltburn by the Sea both of which were very nice.
Its an excellent base to explore the area and we would recommend to any other prospective users

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice cottage with some niggling issues”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was pleasant and well equipped, owner a bit stand offish, no welcome? There are obviously parking issues everywhere and thanks to the next door neighbor we hit their strategically placed concrete post and damaged the car! Although the oil fired boiler worked very well, sadly it was only able to produce 3 inches of hot water for a bath, but the shower was fine? The oven/grill was so complicated to use we needed to read the instruction everyday. The can opener had seized and rusted up and didn't work so couldn't open any tins. All rooms were nice especially the bedrooms and bathroom except for the lounge which was dark and oppressive. The rear yard was overgrown and had a fishy smelly. Overall sadly not good value for money, won't be going back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing