We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant in the center of Scandiano”
Review of Antiche Mura

Antiche Mura
Ranked #9 of 81 Restaurants in Scandiano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$51
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The restaurant is located on the main town square of Scandiano, and in summer you can dinner in the porch next to the fortress in a romantic and scenic landscape. I was immediately struck by the courtesy of the staff and chef with their discreet and professional advices on wine and menu. We dined with one appetizer, sea bass carpaccio, and two main courses, a classic green tortelli with butter and sage (good), and a very good and unusual tortello nettle with tomatoes. We ended the dinner with a sweet very good. The chef offered us two appetizers (good) and little pastries that came with the coffee. In conclusion, I would say a restaurant with a proper value for money, excellent ambience, friendly service and meat and fish cooking.

Date of visit: August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Cesare_Riccardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2010

This is one of those gems that you go to Italy to stumble across. One glance at the thoughtfully balanced menu outside the Antiche Mura in Scandiano, RE, was enough to entice us inside. Once there, we were greeted by the warmly welcoming hostess and the chef. There was an air of relaxed professionalism about the place that was instantly reassuring. The rooms were charming and spotlessly clean.

The menu was evenly divided into fish and meat, from antipasti to secondi, and we could happily have eaten all of it. In the end, my companion and I essayed an even mix of dishes, including a vegetarian starter. This was a “flan” of Gorgonzola (a sort of dense, savoury mousse), which was well seasoned and with a correct intensity of flavour; neither too intrusive nor too bland. The other starter was a chopped (rather than sliced) carpaccio of tuna with strawberries. Sounded odd, worked very well. Our pasta dishes were glorious: one featuring barely seared chunks of the freshest tuna tossed in a cashew and lemon pesto; the other, shavings of dried cod’s roe and top-quality olive oil. The pasta itself was unmistakably freshly made and perfectly cooked – not 15 seconds too much or too little.

Main courses were a trio of foie gras and an excellent boned rabbit wrapped in prosciutto, cooked in white wine and onions and simply served on finely sliced sharp apple with borlotti beans. Wonderful. The liver arrived as three generous slices presented on dry toasts of coarse white bread, again cooked with terrific accuracy: gently pink in the middle and delicate enough to have been eaten with a teaspoon. The ‘trio’ bit of the dish referred to three accompanying garnishes: a prune jam, a spicy chilli jam, and some sweet glazed onions with accompanying mixed salts. A simply conceived, deliciously balanced arrangement. To conclude, we enjoyed a local variant of tarte tatin and some fine regional cheese. We drank a very good prosecco with the early part of dinner and then, guided by the chef, a robust but elegant Chianti from the short and carefully chosen wine list.

Everything was homemade, including the ice cream, four different breads and the various pastries. Service was relaxed but appropriately attentive. The furnishings comfortable, the design discreet and stylish. Most of all, this was cooking of the highest order in terms of technical accuracy, quality of ingredients, design of the dishes and balance of flavours. No distracting saucing or silly mannerisms. It takes great skill, a fine palate and fabulous ingredients to be able to cook this simply. Brilliant and a total treat. The bill, for four courses, wines, water, breads, coffee and a (homemade) digestif of wild berries? If I told you, you wouldn’t believe me. A good 50% less than our lowest pre-bill estimate. Even bearing in mind that dining in Italy is always proportionately less expensive than in the UK, and small-town regional Italy even more so, this represented extraordinary value. The best food I have enjoyed in many years, at any price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
8  Thank NickBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed today via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antiche Mura also viewed

Scandiano, Province of Reggio Emilia
Arceto, Province of Reggio Emilia
 
Scandiano, Province of Reggio Emilia
Casalgrande, Province of Reggio Emilia
 
Reggio Emilia, Province of Reggio Emilia
Scandiano, Province of Reggio Emilia
 

Been to Antiche Mura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing