We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best pies”
Review of Vieux Tancremont

Vieux Tancremont
Ranked #10 of 25 Restaurants in Theux
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 June 2018

When we were visited Belgium we heard sometimes ago about this place where the specialty are BELGIUM PIES, especially creamy rice pies, we were not disappointed the pie was incredible, creamy as promise, fresh and huge, the fresh strawberry one was luscious, fresh fruit topped with real whipped cream wow, after eating this monstrous piece of pie we were all set for the rest of the day, no supper for us, the decor is lovely and peaceful, little playground for children, nice view from the terrace access very easy, parking places not so much since a lot of people come to enjoy those pies,

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thierry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

Visited today after reading about the pies/tarts at this Restaurant. In fairness it was very quiet and a little off season. The apple tart had a lovely filling but the crust was a little dry. The service was almost pushy, allowing us no time to really look closely at the menu, yet there was only one other table of guests. Be prepared to pay the minute the food is delivered to your table.

Date of visit: September 2013
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

So it was easy to park and not noisy! We were taken by a Belgian friend and gathered that at weekends the place was rather more busy and frantic, hence the notice on the menu asking for patience from customers. The speciality of the house is tarts, though they do do other gateaux, ice creams and light snacks, so in the spirit of adventure I tried the black forest tart. It was an interesting and very tasty concoction of pastry, cherries, cream and chocolate. The portion was extremely generous and given its richness I would have struggled to finish it if I hadn't swapped some for tasters of my fellow guests rice tart and cherry tart. Both these were excellent and the coffee was o.k., so if you want to sample another type of filling Belgian cuisine, after you have finished with the frites, you could do worse than drop in here.

Date of visit: September 2013
Thank Spwells2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This top-secret place is quite popular among my Belgian relatives and friends. If you go there with relatives, be sure to meet a friend, if you go with friends... And so on. And on. And on. Because there you can buy a huge fruit cake to take home and have a cup of coffee with a piece of the other cake, when you cannot make a choice. (I have to confess: I never make ONE choice there). Good thing: the cakes are also sold in halves and quarters. They are very fresh, sometimes even warm. Fruit cakes are made with the local fruits and berries, and the assortment can vary significantly depending on the time of the year and the weather a year ago. My personal favourite is tarte aux abricots. If you want to try Belgian specialty, sweet rice cake, tarte aux riz, do it here. Some people I know are really mad about their brésilienne and pancakes with ice-cream. Be aware that this place can be quite full on weekends. It's not a problem to find a place, and the service is quick even when full, but be prepared to stand the noise. It you have diabetes, you may book a special fruit cake in advance. And check their website http://www.auvieuxtancremont.be/ for cake availability and pictures ;)

Date of visit: January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anastasia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: December 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vieux Tancremont also viewed

Theux, Liege Province
Theux, Liege Province
 
Theux, Liege Province
 

Been to Vieux Tancremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing