We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious warm Gite”
other travellers have booked this property
View of church from pretty village ten minutes from the gite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of church from pretty village ten minutes from the gite
The river Sarthe only five minutes from the gite One of the many chateaux around the gite, this one is twenty minutes drive
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
View of church from pretty village ten minutes from the gite
The river Sarthe only five minutes from the gite
One of the many chateaux around the gite, this one is twenty minutes drive
The private garden from the kitchen door
The bread oven
Second bedroom
Master bedroom
Sitting room
Gite courtyard
Gite courtyard
Terrace leading to private garden
Kitchen dining room
Sitting room
Dining area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Saint-Leonard-des-Bois, Sarthe, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Cephas63
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spacious warm Gite”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Lovely Gite in a convenient location. We had to call for directions as the TripAdvisor map put the property in the middle of St Leonard de Bois! Once there we were greeted by Nicci and shown round. There was a welcome pack of bread, milk, wine, chocolates and more which was a nice touch. The accommodation is spacious and ideal for a family. I would be happy to return and recommend it. It is one of the nicest Gites we have stayed in, in this area, and our hosts were helpful and attentive.
Some small gripes, ( and they are small), Beds are adequate but could be better. Sofas likewise. The TV will only play DVDs. The fireplace in the sitting room is not a working one, and there was no freezer section in the fridge. Wi-Fi only reached parts of the kitchen. However none of this took anything away from our enjoyment of our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and layout.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry_Cob...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Gite -Great Location”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is an excellent Gite perfectly located on the Loire/Normandy border and close to the River Sarthe. Nicci is an excellent host and was most welcoming and informative about the sites and attractions of the local area. The gite is nicely furnished and decorated and well equipped and has a very nice, private garden for guests, although you may be visited by Nicci and Nigels beautiful dogs which are Slovakian Pointers. The local village is St Leonard Des Bois which has all the amenities of a small French village, ther are also plenty of supermarkets within a short drive. We ventured as far as Fougére whihc was well worth the 90 min drive, but there are many other attractions nearby. We also visited the beautiful village of Saint-Céneri-le-Gérei which is only about 15 mins drive away but well worth the trip. If you visit with children (we didn't) the Grand Etang at Sillé-le-Guillaume is a great place to take a picnic or cycle/walk around the lakes. Gites Mancelles is definitely worth a visit either for a peaceful getaway or a perfect location for Cyling, walking or horseriding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2015
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay in our gite and managed to visit so many of the pretty villages around here. There is so much to see and do in this area and we are pleased you packed so much into your stay from fishing to forest walking and visiting some of the castles and quaint fortified villages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A
Welwyn
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Lovely Gite in peaceful location."”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled to Le Bas Courtoin to explore this area, the Alpes Mancelles. This Gite is in a very tranquil location with the only sounds to be heard being the songs of Blackbirds, Chaffinches and Jays. It has been superbly restored to a high standard and we were even able to store our bikes in the old Wine Cellar. Sadly the barrels were empty but with Carrefour and Super U only a few kilometres away, we were little short of refreshment. This is a great region to visit and our cycle rides to the Grand Etang at Sille Gillaume and the lovely villages of Saint Ceneri and St Leonard des Bois with its extensive “Cave” made for a very enjoyable stay. The owner Nicci made us very welcome with her knowledge of the area and welcome pack which included fresh eggs from her own free range hens. We will certainly be back as there are many more places to explore.
Thanks Nicci

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2015
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay in our gite and hope to see you when you stay in this area again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic...
Orleans, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: le terrain
Travelling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Léaux E
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
Google Translation

Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2015
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our gite as well as the beautiful countryside around us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing