We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Spainish experience”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dar Hajra

One of the most spectacular views in Andalucía
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One of the most spectacular views in Andalucía
There's an amazing music collection as well as a guitar to strum... A beautiful sitting room with French windows leading to the terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
One of the most spectacular views in Andalucía
There's an amazing music collection as well as a guitar to strum...
A beautiful sitting room with French windows leading to the terrace
The Grazalema mountains seen from the terrace
Rocks have been spectacularly integrated within the house
A huge and superbly equipped kitchen awaits
The master bedroom with walk-in wardrobe
Study with hundreds of books, Cds, DVDs with a desktop iMac and wifi
The view during early Spring: Dar Hajra is the highest house in the village
The peacock mural was made in Tangier in Morocco by a master craftsman
You'll find a bottle of wine awaiting you, and another of cava chilling in your fridge!
A detail of the smaller, Moroccan-style bed andd siesta room
Plants amongst the rocks, detail
Theree is a riding stable just a few minutes drive from the house
The owner is a passionate walker and you'll find copies of his guides at the house
Ronda, one of Andalucía's most spectacular towns, is just 15 minutes by car
Sunsets are always spectacular at Dar Hajra
The open plan kitchen is light and is superbly equipped
The bathroom is amazing, sculpted in amongst rocks with a tub big enough for two
The rocks seen from the kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Montecorto, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
acefaceWe...
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Spainish experience”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We recently visited Dar Hajra and found it an amazing wonder of a place . Set above the white town of Montecorto framed by beautiful mountains built into the rock like no where we had stayed before. The magical feeling of the place is hard to describe , the kitchen was open plan but quite luxurious. The walls adorned with some lovely art and the bathroom literally carved out of the rock . In fact we found that this kept it cool in the spainish sun and the main bedroom is also downstairs which keeps it cool . One of the best things about the villa is the outside and it was a joy to be able to sit outside and look at a truly stunning view which will stay with us for a long time as we relaxed or splashed around in the infinity pool. Stunning special place

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing environment and view
Liked least: The walk up the steep hill from the village
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishpug
1 review
“Beautiful Dar Hajra stunning location...”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our first visit to the beautiful Dar Hajra. The villa is one of a kind, architecturally and asthetically pleasing and full of interesting pieces of Art and Moorish influences which add to the charm.
Parqui and Guy are both friendly and very helpful and the housekeeping service is definitely a bonus!
We very much look forward to visiting this most beautiful part of Spain in the near future and Dar Hajra, "we will meet again!"

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggi G
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“unspoilt heaven”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

just back from a lovely week staying at Dar Hajar, Montecorto.
The villa is stunning and has everything you need for a relaxing week away from it all, take a few good books and enjoy the quiet unspoilt views for miles around. The week we stayed was unseasonably hot so it meant that our local walks were curtailed due to the heat but we visited some of the white villages near by instead. The must do when in this area is to visit the near by show cave ( info provide a the villa in the blue folder)
we were blown away with the caves and cave painting and go horse riding with Sandra (Facebook Caballos y Vino) one evening.
The only down side is the village restaurants, they are basic and everything comes with chips. However sitting in the village square does offer great opportunities to people watch and you will be made very welcome.
the only negative was that though the living area has air-conditioning, the bedroom has not which made sleeping uncomfortable in the high heat we had that week.
There is a second bedroom but I would not recommend this villa for four adults or adults with children, it is a couples kind of place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views, the peace and quiet,the plunge pool,
Liked least: no air conditioningin the bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurorah89
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning house, stunning location!”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Absolutely beautiful! Me and my husband stayed at Dar Hajra for our honeymoon for one week (not enough) and loved it. While neither of us drive it was just lovely relaxing for a week and walking around the village. The house has everything you need and the location is perfect at the top of the village. The views from the terrace are the most beautiful I have seen. We spent so much time outside listening to the birds and sunbathing. The house itself is stunning, bright and welcoming.

Paqui, the lovely lady who comes around to tidy is very friendly and also made us some excellent food perfect for our lazy holiday!

Overall this place is amazing and I'd recommend it to anyone wanting to visit the area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoisFishe...
Hagworthingham
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Two week stay not enough.”
Reviewed 15 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a lovely holiday. Wonderful property, great hosts, fantastic views and a really pretty village. It is not a overstatement to say this villa is unique. Clever design seems to do away with the need for foundations and just builds straight onto the rock. And yes, it is on show!
Cautionary note....you do need to be fit to stay here. Didn't think I'd need to wear crampons to turn on the bath taps, but then it is more a rock pool than a bath. Great fun. As the highest point in a high village the views are fantastic and the place is soooo restful. Guy is a great host and his walking books of the area are a great help, as are his recommendations for places to visit and eat.
Paqui will come in to service the place and, if wanted, will also cook for you. Tip: if ordering food from Paqui, bare in mind she is generous, very. Each meal will last you at least two days. Give her a try, lovely food and it does make you really lazy.
So much to do in the area as well, really pretty villages, close to Ronda if you like busy and really good walking.
So many places in the world to see, we don't normally go back, but we will make an exception in this case. The sooner the better!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing