We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
219
93
17
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
93
17
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fantastic views high quality top floor risotto beautiful hotel my birthday surrounding countryside hotel restaurant cod four poster bed coffee machine steep hill main course new owners narrow streets large balcony pool area is
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

I highly recommend to stay here if you would like a shorter break from Malaga (50 km) or Ronda (approx 77-90 km); Very nice and flexible staff focusing to make guests feeling comfortable, newly renovated building/rooms, Dutch owners providing stability in service level and quality. Our room had the most beautiful view and a balcony - and plenty of space inside. Breakfast was definitely more Dutch than Spanish (luckily) with fantastic croissants and more - very nice! Pool area was situated nicely - offering serenity and privacy from other areas - and again; Fantastic view. Flexibility in check-out, too. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony if possible - and if east/north like our room then do enjoy the sunrise colours on the mountains
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arjan v, Eigenaar at Hotel Castillo de Monda, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Wow Annette, this review brings a big smile on our faces! Thank you so much for this wonderful review and for choosing Castillo de Monda to spend some time.
We take great pride in providing a friendly and welcoming service and maintaining a high quality level. It is very rewarding that it gets noticed.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Well I don’t know where to start! We stayed her for 2 nights so I could have my 30th way from home. This hotel is absolutely amazing, such a beautiful place to stay!

The drive up to the castle isn’t the best but once you arrive it’s like being in paradise! We was welcomed by a lovely lady on the reception who was very friendly and took us to our room.

The rooms are very comfortable, peaceful and had a lovely nights sleep!

The hotel grounds/gardens are so lovely and the views are breathtaking, at night it’s slightly lit up to see your way around and looks beautiful.

We ate in the hotel restaurant on both nights, yes the prices may seem high but you must experience the food! I’ve never had such amazing food in my life, well worth the money! Big shout out to the English waiter who really goes out of his way to make sure you happy. The only thing I would say is that maybe the waiters should be allocated tables, on both nights we was asked for our orders by both waiters. Having allocated tables would solve their confusion.

We met two of the hotel owners, one in the restaurant and one on the reception when we checked out, both really lovely guys.

You must try this hotel!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arjan v, Eigenaar at Hotel Castillo de Monda, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you so much for this nice review! Great to hear that you enjoyed it so much. We will certainly pass on your compliments to our team!
Normally it is only the head waiter or myself taking the order. Not sure what the reason was that one of the other waiters asked you. We will reinforce our instructions about this, thank you for letting us know.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We came with some friends who have dined at some pretty fancy places.
They absolutely loved the food, the wine and the professionalism of the staff. The views knocked them out!
It is our favourite place to bring people when they come to stay and are looking forward to some more lovely dining experiences this year.
Sorry! Did mean to send review after our visit.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 699gail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arjan v, Eigenaar at Hotel Castillo de Monda, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Many thanks for these nice words! Great that you have had a good time with us! Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

The staff of Castillo is very friendly and always ready to help. The rooms are comfortable and of a pleasant size. The restaurant serves a card with top dishes. Try the castle, it's realy a place to be.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arjan v, Eigenaar at Hotel Castillo de Monda, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you Rob for staying with us and for letting us have your opinion. Great to hear that you have had such a good time! We will pass on your compliments regarding the staff and the quality of the food.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

Striking location, with a modern building built within the ruins of an old castle. The architecture is striking, as the design evokes the feel of an old castle with narrow passages, sudden vistas and an irregular layout. It really is a very special place.
We visited in low season when it had very much the feel of a family run hotel with informal and personal service.
The fire in the middle of the dining room is a great feature.
To access the hotel do not drive up through the village (as there are narrow roads and dogs, children and other cars to contend with. Instead go north of Monda on the A7100 and take the zigzag road clearly marked with the hotel sign which is steep, but does not have the other hazards of the town roads.
Great food.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TJCLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryn G, Eigenaar at Hotel Castillo de Monda, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Many thanks for visiting us and letting us have your opinion. Great to learn that you have enjoyed the ambiance, personal service as well as the food so much! We are looking forward to welcoming you as our guest again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews