We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Modern luxury in a historic location”
Chateau Terre Blanche Chalabre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chateau Terre Blanche Chalabre
Swimming under the stars Queribus
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Chateau Terre Blanche Chalabre
Swimming under the stars
Queribus
Montsegur
Peyreretuse
Bedroom Lastours
Under ground rivers
Bathroom Montsegur
Bathroom Montsegur
Bathroom Montsegur
Bathroom Peyreretuse
Bathroom Queribus
Bathroom Lastours
Dinning on the Terrace
Inside dinning room
alfresco dinning
Main Living Room and Fireplace
The Music room
The Libary
Mirepoix
Lake de Montbel
The Pyrenees
La Cite de Carcassonne
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Chalabre, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peter G
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Modern luxury in a historic location”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We spent a week with Gus Longstaff in the Languedoc two years ago and when we heard that he had launched his new venture based at Chateau Terreblanche in Chalabre our group of wine enthusiasts was keen to spend another week with him. The chateau has been modernised with the four bedrooms occupied by our group each individually furnished to a high standard.

Based in Chalabre Gus took us to visit some of the nearby attractions including Foix and its castle, the cave at Mas d'Azil, an underground river, the market at Mirepoix and the town of Limoux. We visited the cities of Narbonne and Carcassonne, a truffle exhibition and several excellent vineyards.

Gus is a knowledgeable and entertaining host with numerous contacts throughout the region, able to put together a varied and interesting stay to meet the needs of his guests. I would happily recommend him and Chateau Terreblanche to help make the most of a stay in this area of France.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A beautiful Chateau”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Chateau Terre Blanche is a truly beautiful house which has recently been magnificently redecorated. The bedrooms are huge, with lovely outlooks and very comfortable beds. The bathrooms are also splendid, with his and hers sinks, great shower and separate toilet. Breakfast was truly French, with fresh baguette, magnificent pastries (insist on the /maple syrup ones!), conserves, yoghurt and freshly brewed coffee. The owners are still improving the Chateau and it will be just wonderful when the work is complete, but in the meantime this is highly recommended as a perfect base for tours of the Languedoc. The swimming pool and garden areas would be wonderful in summer.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable rooms
Liked least: Very uncomfortable dining table and noisy room which needs baffling
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Dear Christine
Thank you for your more than generous review .And we look forward to greeting you both again at Chateau Terre Blanche
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmor59
gold coast
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous hidden gem in the south of France”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in July 2015

I stayed here with my husband and 12 year old daughter, in 2 rooms of the the Chateau. Chateau Terre Blanche is a fabulous retreat that makes a real effort to provide a luxury experience in an enchanting renovated chateau with extraordinary grounds including a wonderful pool. The Chateau was still undergoing some final renovation work with furniture for some of the rooms not yet installed but this didn't affect our stay at all. The bedrooms are very large and beautifully appointed with wonderful beds and linen and the large bathrooms were fabulously appointed with the latest fittings - such a change from many other French bathroom we experienced before and after Chalabre. Chalabre itself is a small and charming village that provides a perfect location from which to see key attractions in the region including Carcassonne, relics of the Cathars, and some very authentic French villages. We were there on Bastille Day and were able to join the village in this national celebration at the Fete d'Cochon which was a uniquely French experience. Overall Chateau Terre Blanch provides modern comfort and luxury in a unique and charming setting which provided us with a most relaxing holiday - when we wanted that, but at the same time providing access to French historical sites and villages. We will be back! as we did not get to do everything we wanted in the week that we were there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The chateau was fabulous - facilities were modern, the pool was a great bonus since it was so hot when we were there
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice L
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Amazing Experience - Highlight of my travel”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in September 2015

I was fortunate to stay at the Chateau with my family and a friend. Not only was the accommodation newly renovated, but each room had its own particular styling. The quality of the accommodation was amazing. I met the Manager, Angus, who was very helpful with any questions we had about Chalabre and took us to a local market. The food was absolutely divine with a nice selection of breads/croissants in the morning and 5 star meals for lunch and dinner. We could see the Pyrenees mountain range from our window. The history of the Chateau alone would be enough to satisfy any history buffs. The Chateau has a pool outside, many fruit trees and even a grape vine for you to pick from! It was a wonderful experience, definitely the highlight of my 3 week trip and I hope I am lucky enough to return sooner rather than later!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury accommodation located in cute, small town of Chalabre
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2016
Dear Sir
Thank you so much for your kind review.It is spring time here in Chalabre so we are getting the Chateau ready for our new guests for this years summer season .We look forward to greeting you again in the very near future at Chateau Terre Blanche as there is still so much more for you to discover.
Kindest Regards
Angus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
businesst...
Greater Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Amazing opportunity to live in a Chateau in authentic French surrounds”
Reviewed 27 February 2016 for a stay in September 2015

Unexpected truly high class stay with huge rooms
A wondrous time and felt like royalty
We got to meet the manager, Angus who could not be more knowledgeable and helpful.The gorgeous local scenery and variety of options from full relaxing rest near the Chateau,s pool to many and various local activities cemented our desire to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Renovations to a luxury level,space to move and breath
Liked least: Initially booked before current excellent website was available
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
Dearest Dr Morrow
It was our pleasure to have you and your family to stay with us last September.And we thank you for your very kind review.My self and the rest of the staff look forward to greeting you again at Chateau Terre Blanche Chalabre in the very near future. As we have more adventures in store for you to enjoy
Kindest Regards
Angus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing