We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay at Mont Joie”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mont Joie

Medieval meets modern comfort at Mont Joie
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Medieval meets modern comfort at Mont Joie
View from dining room, Fayrac Castle and the montgolfiers The main floor salon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Medieval meets modern comfort at Mont Joie
View from dining room, Fayrac Castle and the montgolfiers
The main floor salon
Master Bedroom with private bath and panoramic terrace
Relax on the private terrace off the master suite
Lower en suite Bedroom with King bed
Village of Beynac
Mont Joie from the path to the Beynac Chateau
The fully equipped kitchen makes eating in easy and stress-free
Panoramic views from the terrace off the master suite
Beynac Castle-themed Bunk room on the main level for kids only
Comfortable sitting room
Private parking for Mont Joie, compact cars recommended
Master bathroom
Spectacular garden views under wisteria shade on the upper garden terrace
Enjoy full sun and 180 degree views on the lower garden terrace
Hot air balloons soaring over the valley are a common sight out the main window
Shop like a local at the Sunday Market in Saint Cyprien
View of Chateau Beynac from Hot Air Balloon
Twilight over Beynac, roof top of Mont Joie on left
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Beynac-et-Cazenac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
suspaul
Seabrook, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at Mont Joie”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Mont Joie for a week last year, late April/early May, what a beautiful home. It looked exactly like the photos, actually it looked even better than the photos! We were 4 adults and found it to have all the space we needed, two very nice bedrooms with ensuite full bathrooms, good sized living-dining area, very efficient kitchen with large fridge and the most amazing views overlooking the river and surroundings. The multiple terraces with flowers in bloom were so relaxing after a busy day of sightseeing, hard to describe the beauty in sitting outside in the sunshine watching the world go by.

Just know that this home is up a fairly steep cobblestone street and unless you have a small vehicle you may not be able to drive to the door to unload. There is plenty of parking in the lots at the river, just buy the weekly parking pass as described on the website. Also, the house is situated on three levels, once inside the door you have living/dining room and kitchen, one floor down is the bedroom and bath with a large balcony off of the bedroom, down another flight is the 2nd bedroom, bathroom and utility room with the washer & dryer. You're able to access the multi-tiered terraces from this bottom floor but you do have several stone stairways to reach the large covered terrace and a few more stairs for the lower terrace. There are lots of stairs both inside and out but if you don't have mobility issues it's a wonderful place to stay.

We found more than enough to do during our weeks visit, many places of interest but you do need an auto. Also, try to visit some of the weekly markets, not touristy markets, gorgeous table linens and such.

Definitely a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing with a glass of wine in beautiful surroundings.
Liked least: Lots of stairs and steep walk uphill but we knew before hand so no complaints at all.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
60Biddy
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Idyllic Vacation in the Dordogne”
Reviewed 15 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Our vacation to France was idyllic, thanks in no small part, to wonderful Mont Joie! We had a wonderful time doing some of the activities offered in the area such as hiking to Castelnaud, canoeing down the Dordogne, visiting medieval towns and Gotte de Font-de-Gaume and taking a hot air balloon ride. Afterwards, we were very happy to return to the Mont Joie to relax and enjoy the beautiful view from its many vantage points. The beauty inside Mont Joie complemented the beauty outside. It is an elegant and comfortable abode that combines the past and present in a way lovely way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views.
Liked least: I can't think of anything I didn't like but some may find the climb to the house difficult.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharo61
Perth, Aus
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Picture postcard perfect and a perfect location”
Reviewed 10 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We, two couples in our early fifties, spent a week in May at Mont Joie and loved every minute of it! We had planned our month long trip to Italy and France around the availability of Mont Joie based on the pictures and reviews on the internet and we were certainly not disappointed. The villa and village exceeded our expectations. We had all modern facilities you could imagine or need and an amazing, unforgettable view out of the living room window.
We took time to eat in and have drinks on the terrace and loved watching the hot air balloons float past while we had our evening meals. People were friendly, Sarissa the local agent was lovely and very helpful, local epicerie was well stocked and parking in the public car park close by was very easy.
It was certainly a holiday to remember, thank you for allowing us to share your wonderful French home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spectacular view and location.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim2315
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stepping Back in Time”
Reviewed 23 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

I cannot tell you how much we enjoyed Mount Joie!!!!!!!!!!

There are no adequate words to describe it. I tried to put my thoughts in your guest book but in a nutshell, stepping into your place was like stepping back into time. I am sure you have heard that before. It was a fantasy. You and Michelle have done an absolutely fantastic job of creating a charming home with a wonderful atmosphere. We are so glad that we got the chance to visit especially after that delays last fall.

We had a couple of days of challenging weather but other than that it was superb. I took your advice: we’d often sit on the balcony and simple absorb the wonders around us. It was so relaxing and tranquil. The visit to the Perigord now ranks as our #1 vacation of all time. We’d go back in a heartbeat!

Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sitting on the balcony, sipping wine and staring at the three castles across the river
Liked least: Couple of days of rain
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mwaddellu...
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mont Joie, Beynac - your home in the Dordogne”
Reviewed 30 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

My wife and I and another couple spent mid-October 2011 at Mont Joie - beyond our expectations for charm, comfort and locale. We felt at home in the village of Beynac and Mont Joie felt like "our home" in the Dorgdogne River valley. The owners' notes provide all the guidance you need to settle in and venture out. The place is a well-equipped; outside a medieval manse; inside a modern renovated home. We cooked our own meals about 50% of the time because we enjoyed shopping locally for food and wine. We enjoyed stunning, long afternoon views from the two terraces overlooking the Dordogne river valley. Thinking of the Dordogne? Think of Beynac and Mont Joie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warmth, comfort and vista from the place. Great location!!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$206
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing