We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$174
View deal
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Hotels.comUS$174
Expedia.comUS$175
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveller rating
225
64
18
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
225
64
18
12
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 327 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2019

This is a hotel and spa to dream of set in the basque countryside. The hotel is beautiful and very peaceful. It’s not far off the beaten track from motorway but well worth the effort to get there as you will not be disappointed. The rooms are clean and tidy and beautiful views of the valley. The staff friendly and happy to help. As for the food fantastic. I can highly recommend a long stay. 5 star you will enjoy and we will be staying again for sure!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reservas E, Director General at Hotel & Spa Etxegana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.
We were delighted to welcome you, and we are pleased to know that you had a pleasant time with us.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again to our hotel. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2019

Spent this weekend at the hotel and spa and the stay was very, very good. The rooms are well kept with all you need...even a hot tub in the room. The dinner fixed menu was excellent--well presented and not "heavy" on the stomach--really liked the poached egg with truffles. The staff (Iker especially) was very good and looked after us. If you go for the massage in the spa (book ahead and note that its for 2 pax) was good fun and relaxing. The wooden decor around the hotel is worth a look just to see the place. Well done to the team at Etxegana!

Room tip: Most of the rooms have good views of the mountains and quiet...so take your pick.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reservas E, Director General at Hotel & Spa Etxegana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2019

Dear Jeffrey S
Thank you very much! Your comment is really motivating and helps us to continue working hard.
Hope to see you again in the future...Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2019

An amazing place with amazing service. If you look for relax and a natural environment with a great spa and incredible rooms... this is the place. I ahce been there 2 times, and I will return again, for sure.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Alberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reservas E, Director General at Hotel & Spa Etxegana, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2019

Dear Alberto B
First of all, we thank you for sharing your experience with us and the rest of Trip Advisor readers. We feel really glad about your comment, because after two stays with us, you are already looking forward to coming back again, and that makes us feel happy and proud. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Excellent stay exceptional staff amazing setting fabulous food
A really splendid experience full of the highest quality service and products
The situation of the property in the Basque mountains is truly sensational and refreshes one’s sense of peace and tranquility

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais du Silence Hotels
1  Thank G1248ZUhelenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelruraletxegana, Director General at Hotel & Spa Etxegana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear G1248ZUhelenw
It is a pleasure for us to read your comment because it means that we have reached our goal: to make you feel that it has been worth choosing our hotel.
We feel happy and proud for that. Thanks for coming. We are looking forward to having you again with us. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

A business partner recommended to eat here, we weren't disappointed after we had our three course menu - each course was fresh, well prepared and delicious. So, we decided the next time we'll stay in the area we'll come here for the full treatment. Looking forward! Review will follow.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Rdmaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelruraletxegana, Director General at Hotel & Spa Etxegana, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Rdmaal
We are happy to read your comment about us. The fact that you wish to come back and enjoy all our services (not just restaurant) is what we are honestly looking for in all our guests: to have always a reason to be back here. That is our best prize.
We are looking forward to making your wish come true ;-P See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews