We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
50
5
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
5
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews santa maria stromboli rosso hosts property paradise hammocks views lipari sea salina island
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2017

I stayed at La Villa Rossa for 2 nights with 3 other women. However, I wish I could have extended my stay because from the minute we arrived to our final departure, we felt like we were in paradise!

Our host picked us up from the ferry terminal in Santa Maria and drove us to the Villa. To my surprise, the grounds were much larger and more beautiful that shown in the pictures online. La Villa Rossa is located only 10 minutes walk from the terminal and has such diverse trees/plants on the property such as olives, capers, grapes, almonds, quince, lemon/limes, kakis, figs and prickly pear cactus. The owners make their own dessert wine by leaving ripe grapes on bamboo mats in the sun to dry (allowing the sugars to concentrate). They were kind enough to offer us a taste during our stay.

I booked the "Junior Suite with Terrace" for 200 Euros/night, which included 2 separate rooms (1 with queen bed and 1 with twin beds). Our suite was clean, quiet, and included a small fridge, kitchen sink and gas stove.

Wi-Fi did not work in our room, however signal was available in the lobby and pool area. Also to note - the room did not have air conditioning, however it was equipped with a large ceiling fan.

Breakfast (complimentary) was one of the highlights of our stay. From 8:30 to 10:00, a large spread of items such as yogurt, muesli, pastries, toast, fruit, eggs, meat, cheese and juice/coffee was laid out for us. We really enjoyed just sitting here, or lying in one of the many hammocks, looking out at Stromboli, Panarea and Lipari.

Conclusion:
We really enjoyed our stay at La Villa Rossa – mainly because of the beautiful setting and wonderful owners/staff.

The Good:
- Beautiful setting and views, close to Port of Santa Marina
- Very friendly owners/staff
- Great breakfast (complimentary)
- Outdoor pool

To Improve:
- Beds could be softer

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Smirshner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Sea views, within meters of village, view of Stromboli, sunrises, great breakfasts with perfect croissants and hosts that are so friendly and helpful....what more does one need when you are on the beautiful island of Salina? We stayed 4 nights and would highly recommend. Perfect location! Beach is within walking distance and this villa is just a slight walk outside of Main Street on village. Lovely pool, hammocks to relax in and wonderful hosts. I will definitely return next time on the island of Solina. The village of Santa Maria is the largest on the island but do rent a motorbike (30 Euros) to tour the other villages. They are all unique and have different feels. Lingua is just 3 km away....great restaurants all with seaside views. Try the granita at Da Alfredo .... awesome!!!!! The drive along the coast is spectacular. Happy travels!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank FactChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Apart from the comfortable rooms, great location, delightful swimming pool, the best thing about La Villa Rossa is Anna Julia, Renata and the other staff. We were 4 familes of 15 in total who needed 5 nights' accommodation on Salina and Anna Julia made the reservation process easy for us. Although we only had 4 our of her 5 rooms booked, she allowed us to also sleep in the 5th room, which meant we could have the kids separate from the adults for lovely sleep-ins! She also gave us plenty of good advice, and provided transport to and from the Villa for arrival and departure. A heavenly stay and a wonderful host!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TFJ100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

This was a treasure find. The host Anna Julia and the staff including renatta ( sorry if spelling wrong) were just so helpful and lovely! The breakfasts were delicious and the room/ suite was stunning - high ceilings, traditional Italian villa furnishing and so comfortable! Also, the pool area is just fantastic and so private and clean! It was just a dream stay!
The beach/ shore is a 2 min walk - and town is 5 mins walk! Anna Julia gives great recommendations so we knew the best spots to eat dinner!
We loved our stay - great views and lovely property - surrounded by beautiful flowers and plants. We got up lots of mornings to watch the sun rise as Salina is really a little piece of paradise! Highly recommend La Villa Rossa! It will not disappoint!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank obriename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015

From the moment we were met on the quayside by our hosts we were made to feel welcome and relaxed. NIno and Anna-Julia are the perfect hosts- always attentive without being intrusive-genuinely warm and lovely people. The property is beautiful, well maintained and well located close to beaches,restaurants and shops even with a 3 year old in tow. The views of the sea and surrounding countryside are stunning. We needed a relaxing holiday and we couldn't have picked a more perfect place. When we were leaving we all felt as though we were leaving a special place and real friends. Highly recommended and we will definitely return.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank andy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews