We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect International Destination for Group of...”

Review of Hafod Lodge

Front view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view
High View of Whole Property Side View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Front view
High View of Whole Property
Side View
Hot Tub & Heated Pool Area
Back of the Property
Pool at Night
View of Back at Night
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2 (Purple)
Bedroom 3 (Blue)
Bedroom 4 (Green)
Upstairs Bathroom
Downstairs Bathroom
Lounge
Lounge (OtherSide)
Kitchen
Kitchen Leading onto Patio Area
Hallway
Conservatory
Conservatory (OtherSide)
Bunk Room Upstairs Bed
Bunk Room
Bunk Room
Bunk Room Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 25
Hensol, Vale of Glamorgan, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
iainbevo
Telford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not so good once we got back”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A group of us stopped here during the rugby world cup. I have to come out and say this straight away, I believe the property has bed bugs, a couple of our group who did not have the same bed in the same room were bitten. This is the only place that they have stopped together and the bite marks are consistent with that of a bed bug. We were not able to raise it with management during our stay, as we only found out after we returned. We were also reluctant to mention it on return until we had our security deposit back, as it was a large amount between the 8 of us. We now all have to keep checking our homes to make sure that we have no brought back any on our clothing.

Some of the kitchen and glassware was dirty so had to be put through the dishwasher before we could use it, there were cigarette butts in the patio area, from were previous visitors had not used the ash trays provided.

We all had a good time while we were there its only reflecting upon our stay that the negatives add up. Positives are that it was in a great location, the house is well equipped for the amount of people that need to stay there. It is a great size for the amount of people. I would say that it is more for groups than couple there are 2 double beds in separate rooms, two singles in a room and a then a room with 4 single beds in.

This is my first negative review on trip advisor of anywhere I have stayed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: the bed bugs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and heated pool
Liked least: The wifi is only available in one room
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Isla1962
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“the weather made it good”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The house and pools were immaculate when we arrived very welcoming. The beds were of very good quality and extremely comfortable.
the main house smelt damp after a few days and cockroaches were found in the sitting room on the 2nd day.
I found the kitchen to be very poorly equipped for a house of such size which made food prep quite hard. In adition all the numbers on the cooker dials have disappeared so you can't tell what the ovens on. Also the toaster kept tripping the electric.
It costs £30 each way by taxi into Cardiff.
Finally the deposit took over a week to be paid back which is not good enough.
The owners were quick to sort all problems. I think some investment is required.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the weather and the pool
Liked least: smell of damp in the kitchen
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you for your feedback, we are always happy to receive any feedback positive or negative from our guests as it gives us the opportunity to correct or change any problems that guests may encounter during their stay.

After your alleged sighting of a "cockroach" we immediately called in our pest control specialists, who confirmed to yourselves, that there was no evidence of any kind that cockroaches, or any other pests were present at the lodge.

Due to the rural environment, what may have been witnessed was a "bug" that had wondered in from our extensive gardens as was suggested by the inspector himself.
On a monthly basis the lodge is inspected to ensure the house and gardens are free from any type of pest, guests are welcome to view all inspection documentation as it kept at the lodge.

The damp smell in the shower room may have occurred if your party of (20+ people) did not operate the extraction fan in the shower room as instructed on arrival.

I am unsure about your comment on the equipment in the kitchen as we cater for up to 25 people and this has not been a problem in the past

We try our best to ensure all our guest are very happy with their stay at the lodge, on occasions things may happen that are out of our control, but we endevour at all times to make your stay as pleasurable as possible
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Warfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub & Pool
Liked least: If i had to be really picky (and i mean really picky) The fridge needed to be bigger for groups over 12
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1 596
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing