We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable and well-equipped”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
The view from the cottage in winter.
Portgower Beach 3 minutes walk from the cottage
The view from the cottage.
The front of the cottage.
The river Helmsdale nearby is a popular fishing spot for Prince Charles.
Sunrise from the living room window.
Dornoch Golf Course 3rd Hole.
The village is idyllic. It is surrounded by fields and faces the sea.
Enjoy beautiful sunrises from the comfort of the cottage.
Relax in front of an open fire in the living room.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Helmsdale, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NedSyd
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and well-equipped”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage was larger than I expected, and equipped with everything you could want for a very comfortable stay. Having two bathrooms was a real bonus and the new shower room is great. The views were lovely and the location very peaceful but conveniently close to local villages. We really enjoyed our stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review and for giving Palm Tree Cottage Retreat five stars. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon. Lorna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne J S
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Sea view”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We loved the position of the cottage it was clean but the room on the front was unusable as it smelt strongly of animal urine, perhaps replacing the carpet with a washable floor covering would solve the problem, the shower downstairs did not work in fact it was not even connected, and the heating/water system was not the best and needs looking at especially for winter renters. We were hoping to see the Northern Lights but sadly it was not to be but the sunrises were beautiful and as a base the cottage was perfectly situated for visiting the Highlands.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2014
The carpet in the front room is new. Currently there is a shower connection above the bath, but as the reviewer says, the new shower room is not complete. It will be installed in March 2014 and I will upload photos of it then. The heating runs from a solid fuel range cooker, so this makes it a rustic experience as you have to keep the fire lit to get the radiators working. Admittedly, this is not for everyone, but some of my guests love the experience. There is also a solid fuel stove upstairs, which you can open for an open fire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$90
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing