We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Elegant, spacious and beautifully presented.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Thorpeness
Thorpeness Meare
Boating Lake
Thorpeness Beach
Beach
Aldeburgh
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Thorpeness, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nickyw00d...
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Elegant, spacious and beautifully presented.”
Reviewed 10 December 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We have stayed a number of times in Dormy House and love it's warm welcome at anytime of year. Each room is just right from the spacious sitting room to the kids playroom, the games room, utility and perfectly appointed kitchen. There is no fault here, it's just got that wonderful balance between luxury and familiarity that brings peace of mind and a sense of calm, and allows for a perfect break from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2017
Dear Nicky, thanks for taking the time to review your stay in Dormy House in Thorpeness. It's great that following several visits you continue to find the house a lovely place to stay whatever the time of year and you keep returning. The house is perfect for larger gatherings as there is space for everyone to relax and chill. At Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages we hope you will return again in the future.
Kind regards
Kim - Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane P
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“A perfect retreat”
Reviewed 29 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We have stayed here 4 times now and find Dormy house perfect for our needs. From the outside the interior is not obvious as the front door takes you into the side of the house. But once inside you have 5 bedrooms, a luxurious lounge and huge kitchen/diner/conservatory to enjoy. The agents are very available at the end of the phone 24/7 - we needed to call them about the heating which they sorted easily for us over the phone. The kitchen is well equipped- the only negative is the oven, as we found it a bit slow to get going.
Location wise, Dormy house is just footsteps from the dolphin pub, and a few minutes from the beach and the mere.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2017
Hi Jane
Thanks for your review about your stay at Dormy House. This stay being your 4th says it all! Dormy is a beautiful house perfect for large gatherings with enough space for everyone. At Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages our aim is to be available for our guests 24/7 so I am delighted to hear we were able to assist immediately. We will get our maintenance team to look at the oven to ensure this is working property.
Thank you for taking the time to review Dormy House. We look forward to you returning again to Suffolk.
Kind regards
Kim - Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corrinesy...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Practically perfect in every way”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Fantastic house in a great location, shop and pub on your doorstep too. We all had a wonderful break. Thank you

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Thank you for reviewing Dormy House in Thorpeness. I am thrilled to hear you had a great stay and the house suited all your requirements. The house is perfectly located to enjoy a relaxing break in Suffolk. If you should be thinking of returning to Suffolk again in the future please do not hesitate to contact us at Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages.
Kind regards
Kim - Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G
Basingstoke
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect family house”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Dormy House was everything we could have hoped for.
It is ideally positioned in the centre of Thorpeness village only 25 yards from the village shop, a great pub (The Dolphin) and a few minutes from the beach.
Dormy House is roomy and light, has plenty of room for 10 and has a much larger garden than we expected. The games room (table tennis/pool/snooker) and the snug were perfect for the children.
The only slight negative was the fact that the agents (Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages) did not meet us on arrival as was promised, nor did they contact us during our stay. That apart, we had a very enjoyable stay and would thoroughly recommend Dormy House.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
Dear Mr Groth

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Dormy House.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and my apologies that we did not get to meet you on this occasion.

Please do get in touch if you are ever looking to stay in the area again.

Kind regards

Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmSuttz
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning house - Fabulous location”
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

A wonderful holiday home, fully equipped with everything you need to make your holiday as easy as possible. We were able to unwind, relax and enjoy every minute of our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2017
Hi Emma

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Dormy House in Thorpeness and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Please do get in touch if you are ever looking to stay in the area again.

Best regards

Angela
Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing