We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
238
106
49
47
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
106
49
47
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster hunting lodge scottish castle hole golf course play golf course dinner stunning location public rooms log fire fine dining scallops dining room wee dram wine list lounge area lovely touch stayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

This is so far my favorite part of our England Scotland Ireland adventure!love this place. Such beautiful grounds and hiking unlike any other place ive been. Beautiful trails and up close encounters with sheep. The staff is what makes this place spectacular. They are warm and friendly and work so hard to give guests an amazing experience. Alex and Danielle are super stars and we loved them!food in the restaurant was yummy too. Sad to leave today and hope to come back some day!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Turtle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

I booked two rooms for two nights as a surprise for my family, unfortunately there was no wow factor, the hotel is quite dated, furniture does need replacing. None of the fireplaces were working on our first night and only the second one was on on Saturday. Rooms were quite cold as radiators were always off, when asked to take a look, nothing was done the first night and we got a portable radiator only for the second night. Rooms were however clean, had plenty of towels, bathrobes etc. Absolutely no wi-fi connection, it only worked between 6 am and 8 am.
Food was good (both for dinner and breakfast) and our waitress was very pleasant. They do need to change their coffee machine though or use better coffee beans as it was undrinkable and we saw other customers raising the same issue.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Ekaterina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalmunzie C, Manager at Dalmunzie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thank for your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Had a truly wonderful James Bond evening at Dalmunzie starting with drinks and then a fabulous dinner with plenty of food and wine. The staff were truly wonderful and service was just amazing. Roger put on an absolutely brilliant firework display that lasted a good 30 minutes and then the dancing provided by a brilliant DJ ended the night. Roger and Trang and all the staff deserve a massive pat on the back for a wonderful evening and I would certainly go back there for another New Years Bash.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

I had read all the reviews prior to going, but I must say, we didn't experience the water problems etc. We had great water pressure in our room (MacKenzie) and the stay was simply fab ! We went as part of a group for a 50th birthday party, stayed 2 nights in May. You need a car, the castle is very remote, but that is part of the experience. Lots of sheep, green areas, hill sides and a river - thats the surrounding areas, simply beautiful. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the rooms clean with TV and all the amenities you need. Breakfast and dinner were great, and the common areas ideal - fire place, pool table, bar, sofas etc. I would absolutely recommend this for a w/end stay.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Thehotelmanager2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

This castle is in the middle of nowhere, but where you can find everything: comfortable lounges, old fashioned bedrooms, excellent restaurant, bar, walks, golf course, glorious surroundings, quietness...
Good welcome, however the service of the restaurant could be improved. The bedrooms are comfortable but we expected more for this type of accommodation (e.g. the flow of the shower is very low).
All this has a price, the dinner being especially expensive (ca. £35 for a main course).
Wi-Fi is present but quite slow; no cell phone signal.
Our main final impression is that the web site describes a more luxury accommodation than in reality.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABSKBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews