We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Croston, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Suzanne L
Berkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A fantastic home away from home”
Reviewed 8 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed at this lovely house in Croston whilst visiting relatives and I didn't want to leave. It is beautifully decorated throughout with everything you need and much larger inside than it appears from the outside. Very comfortable beds and spotlessly clean. Good pubs in the village too. We would definitely recommend it. Thank you Ann for letting us visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steven137
Littleborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT START TO THE NEW YEAR”
Reviewed 2 February 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Stayed in this cottage for four nights to bring in the new year our party was 4 adults
And 2 children.Our stay at the cottage was superb from start to finish.
Great communication from Anne the owner nothing was a bother to her.
Stayed 4 nights (felt like we had stayed 7nights) it was so relaxing ,home from home,there is a shop facing the cottage ,a pub a stones throw away ,and also a few more pubs within walking distance,there is a larger spa shop near the railway station
This is a few minutes drive,there is an Italian and also an Indian restaurant within
Walking distance,we had a Indian takeaway it was very nice.If you like the outdoors there are plenty of country walks to be done
The cottage has a nice private garden for the summer rentals.
The cottage itself was fully equipped with everything you needed .

Tip,,,take some logs and kindling for the fire (its great relaxing by the fire).
Would we stay here again....WITHOUT A DOUBT.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2018
Thanks so much Steve, so glad you all enjoyed the New Years break and I will look forward to welcoming you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“super break in wonderful accomadation”
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

My partner, myself, my daughter and her3 year old daughter enjoyed a Monday to Friday break during October 2017 at Lavender Cottage. Anne was a wonderful, host and was there to answers any questions if we required, however she was not intrusive and we felt very, welcome, comfortable and at home in her beautiful cottage. The cottage was spotlessly clean and fully equipped with everything you could possibly need. The standard of the decoration, furnishing and fittings of the cottage were extremely tasteful and would have put some boutique hotels to shame, Anne has exquisite taste and all the little finishing touches were appreciated. The kitchen was well equipped and was a pleasure to cook in at the far end of the kitchen was a little office area where all the information about the cottage and the activities in the area were available in a file. My granddaughter lovely playing on the swivel chair and being involved while we cooked, if you wanted there were cookery books and spices there for your use. The beds were all very comfortable and the bed linen was of high quality as was the fluffy towels supplied. I loved the master bedroom with the on suite and when given the chance I would sneak up there and read enjoying the pleasant surroundings. The other bedrooms and the bathroom were super too. Both the showers also had a good power to them and it was lovely being able to relax in a bath after a busy day out. Parking was easy there was space for 2 cars one behind the other right next to the back gate of the cottage; we choose to use the back gate and the French doors to go in and out. The garden was beautiful with a winding slate path leading up to the door. I would love to return in the summer time when we could have made use of the tranquil garden and all its furnishings. Oh I forgot to mention how useful it was having the downstairs cloak room that was also beautifully presented. I don’t know how Anne can bear to let this cottage out. There was a lot for us to do as a family in the area. We found a super equipped play ground in the village just a minutes’ walk from the cottage. My daughter had her hair cut and styled at James Alexander hair, and I wish I had made an appointment too, her hair was cut to the standard of a top city hairdresser and at £35 pound was a bargain, and this again was a short walk to the cottage. The village had an excellent train service to Preston which only took 20 minutes and as it was raining we were glad that there was no problem getting parking at the station and was glad that there was a shopping centre right across from the station, my daughter had her nails done here in a salon, there was a Primark which kept her happy and a tkmaxx for me. We also had a day out in Southport which was about 30 mins by car, there was a wonderful play centre there for my granddaughter, we also made lots of visits to Leyland garden centre which had super food and a soft play. We found that we did not have time to do everything that we planned to and would love to return again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2017
Thank you so much Anne for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. I will very much look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivien H
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting relatives close by. Croston is a nice vibrant village and well placed. The house was well located, next to a pub with a boule pitch and bowling green. We ate at the Grapes and Wheatsheaf , both within easy walking distance and providing good food and service at reasonable prices.

The cottage is modern but cosy and deceptively spacious. Lovely garden at the rear for sitting and relaxing. It's only potential drawback is that it's situated on a fairly busy road which could make sleeping in the front bedrooms a problem for those not used to traffic noise

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2017
So glad you had an enjoyable visit and thank you for being such tidy guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caroline...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional.”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This cottage is truly exceptional - and I say that as someone who has been a professional rental agent of high end holiday properties for 15 years, and as someone who is exceedingly 'picky' as a result. There is absolutely nothing I could fault. The location in the exceedingly pretty and welcoming village of Croston is superb. The decor and care, love and attention that has been put into this cottage by the owner has to be seen to be believed. And the communication with owner excellent. Really one of the best holiday rentals I have been fortunate enough ever to stay in.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
Thank you Caroline. I'm so pleased you all enjoyed your stay. Very gratifying to receive such a good report from someone who works in the industry. Hope you will come and visit Croston again soon. Best wishes to you and your family. Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing