We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly”

Cafe Cross The Mersey
Ranked #22 of 109 Restaurants in Wallasey
Price range: US$4 - US$9
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Really friendly staff and food was lovely! My son is dairy intolerant so they made him dairy free chicken dippers. Would definitely eat here again!

Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

Been a while since last visit to this cafe. This time was told I could not use my Tastecard as you withdrew from the scheme over 12 months ago and informed me it was Tastecard's error not removing this establishment from advertisments. I therefore cannot phathom to understand why you have not taken it upon yourselves to rectify this issue with Tastecard considerings you even mentioned other customers keep coming and you have to tell them card is not warranted. Nevertheless, ordered two tuna melts which seemed overpriced but expected substancial baguettes, when they arrived it was a quarter the size of a full baguette with a plateful of lettuce.
In conclusion a very overpriced cafe, small portions of food served and poor management especially relating to the Tastecard issue.
I have thought long and hard about this review but since learning from the waitress that customers just keep coming in and its been over 12 months since you withdrew from the scheme I felt its no excuse and its like your luring customers in under false pretences hoping they will just order anyway which incidentally like a fool we did and paid heavily for it.

2  Thank MrGee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CafeCrossTheMersey, Owner at Cafe Cross The Mersey, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

We are sorry everything did not go to plan for your visit to Cafe cross the Mersey.

I would like to point out that it is not our responsibility to update Taste Card's website.

We have contacted them on numerous occasions to take us off their database, which only they can do !

If you had called to book in as all our previous taste card visitors have always had to do, and was part of the terms and conditions
with taste card for ourselves, we would have been able to inform you that we were no longer accepting taste card.
You have never been able to just show up and use a taste card at the cafe without pre-booking so even if we still accepted taste card you would have been unable to use it that day !

We run an honest business, unlike your review, and would not benefit in anyway from misleading our valued customers, as they simply would not return !
Our Tuna Melt is a customer favourite and is lovingly made using an Artisan baked Ciabatta, not a "baguette", and is handmade using the finest ingredients, served with a dressed mixed leaf garnish, not a plate full of lettuce as you claim. Our Tuna Melt is priced at £5.00 and in this price we we have to cover ingredients, wage costs to cook, serve, clean your table, wash your plate and cutlery, Pay 20% VAT, gas, water, electric and business rates, not to mention rent, insurance, phone and internet costs ! but you expect to pay just £2.50 for this food and service ? If you take the time to see what other similar food outlets charge for a usually lesser standard Tuna Melt you will see the average price is between £7 and £9 ! However, as a gesture of goodwill, and if you are happy to return to the cafe, I will be happy to refund you out of my own pocket for one of your "overpriced baguettes" as we genuinely do not like any customers leaving our cafe/restaurant with a negative experience, regardless of who's fault it was (taste card or ourselves).

As for the poor management comment, anyone with any intelligence can read the reviews on trip advisor, or any other review to be fair, and decide whether an average score of 4.5 out of 5 would indicate a poorly run business or not. If it helps, I have it on good authority that Mcdonalds have a saver menu were you can buy a sandwich from 99p which might be of interest to you?

Yours Sincerely


Geraint Edwards
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

After having walked from New Brighton with the family, we all enjoyed a nice cup of tea in clean, relaxing surroundings. It offers a good selection of food and drink as well as fantastic views of Liverpool. The prices are also very reasonable and we did feel that we did get value for our money. We were also given a very warm welcome and when we asked about ferry times we were well looked after and given the information in double quick time. Thanks for a lovely time!

Thank Reddevil197606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Great choices available, but slightly sticky feel to tables etc. Worth dropping in especially if waiting for a boat!

Thank MrsFaz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CafeCrossTheMersey, Owner at Cafe Cross The Mersey, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hi, thanks for your review, I'm sorry if your table was not cleaned before you sat at it. The staff are normally on the ball, and our reputation for cleanliness can be seen throughout our reviews. I can only guess that you sat at a table
that had just been vacated, and we have unfortunately missed it, as the tables are regularly inspected and cleaned. I will raise the failure with the cafe manager and staff to make sure we live up to our exceptionally clean reputation !

Geraint Edwards
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Some things on the menu are a little pricey for lunch, e.g. Scouse at £7, but the coffee is good...very good, the staff are super friendly and helpful, and there are great views of the river. We went with our two children (5,6), and we're very impressed. Baked potatoes, wraps and kids sandwiches were all fresh, nicely presented and well cooked. It opens into a play centre, can be a bit noisy, but if you sit on the sofas nearest to the windows, it would be fine.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank caincat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CafeCrossTheMersey, Owner at Cafe Cross The Mersey, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hi, thanks for your review - we are proud of the
food, drink and especially great coffee we serve (Lavazza) !

I take it that you didn't order a scouse, or you might have had a different opinion on the value - We make it from scratch, using only fresh, mostly locally sourced ingredients and it is a very generous portion, served with beetroot, and freshly baked bread. It is world famous !

P.S
It is slightly cheaper on the boat, equally as delicious, in takeaway form !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Cross The Mersey also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Cross The Mersey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing