We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place to stay for a family holiday...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rainbow Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Charminster, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HuddySB
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay for a family holiday (three generations)”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a super stay in Rainbow Cottage. It was a real home from home with every comfort. We have never before stayed in such a well equipped rental cottage - there was nothing that we needed that was lacking. The beds were great and everyone slept well. We loved the village and the fact that it was so close to so many wonderful places to visit! We certainly want to return to this area and would be happy to revisit Rainbow Cottage - and to recommend it to friends.
The boys (8,6 and 3) also loved the playground just a minute's walk away and enjoyed buying eggs laid by the chickens we could see from the garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself, the area, the village, the beauty of the landscape and the peaceful atmosphere.
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela M
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely homely feeling in a rural delightful country setting.”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The cottage is well equipped and has a real country feel. The village is quiet and a typical Dorset village. Ideal location to explore the local area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: space and large kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spitfire7...
Nottingham, UK
1 review
“Excellent weekend”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at Rainbow cottage for an extended weekend as part of our family members were taking part in the Weymouth triathlon and we needed a cottage that was home from home and thats exactly what we got! A lovely cottage that was so comfortable and well equipped and made the weekend very pleasant. There was plenty of room for everyone, clean and well looked after and the little garden was a welcome paradise from the madness of a family weekend! Truly part of the countryside. We would definitely recommend to anyone and if we are down that way again we wouldn't think twice about re-booking. Also Caroline who owns the cottage is so nice and helpful that it made booking the cottage effortless a very good experience all round. Thank you.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocketco
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We recently stayed in Rainbow Cottage with a large family group of six adults and two children, the house easily fitted us all in, and we never felt on top of each other. There was enough sofa space for us all to sit together with enough rooms to have space too if required.

The cottage is comfortably furnished and has a nice selection of toys/games/dvds/books which is a great addition. Stairgates were also a great safety addition for young children.

We have rented many cottages, and this is one of the best - the only critique I could give it would be the late check in time. 4pm seems overly late when most cottages are usually 2pm - if just feels as the renter you lose most of your first day.

Visitors should try out Hive Beach, its the closest too the cottage and its very quiet and unspoilt, even in August! You can also take dogs too, (at one end of the beach) which you cant on many of the beaches.

We had a lovely time, thank you.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurieT55...
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This cottage is really lovely. It's very spacious, there were 4 adults and 3 under 5's in our party, yet never once were we under each others feet. Plenty of space for our travel cots without requiring expertise in acrobatics to get round the bedrooms with them in.
There was no shortage of towels including tea towels and everywhere is so well equipped. The kitchen pretty much has everything you can imagine needing and there are hairdryers, books, millions of dvds, magazines, games so even if you get rained in all week you'll be sure to have something to do, even some childrens toys.
Fantastic to have free wifi and nice to be trusted to have access to the phone too, as I'm sure there are some who would take advantage of this facility.
The small village is lovely and there is also a small play area with a slide/climbing frame, swings and grassy field and basketball court a minutes walk away, I'm not sure whether this is noted on the 'area info' but was definitely a plus for us, especially as we had an hour or so to kill until our check in time when we arrived.
Definitely recommend this property to families, couples, anyone really.
Also worth noting, very helpful owner. The only minor point was that check in time was quite late (4pm) however, this may have only been on this particular day and also, the owner did suggest if we needed to get in earlier (I'd ordered a grocery delivery) I could ring their housekeeper to liase. So I'm confident if this had have been an issue, it would've been easily rectified, like I said, very helpful owner.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$371
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing