We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware of parking”
Review of The Railway Inn

The Railway Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$47
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Purchased on the 18th September 2019, the new owners plan to restore the outside of the building and rename the business The Railway Inn. They believe to be in keeping with its location next to the Steam Railway. Open for business as usual whilst the necessary works are ongoing. The restaurant, bar and rooms are in great condition and so trading normally. The new owners are well known in the South Hams for their food and service and are doing the same at The Railway Inn. Well placedfor access to beaches, fishing Port of Brixham, Golf across the road and 10 meters from the Steam Railway. The Menu is home cooked and locally sourced. Great local Real Ales and superb Wine awaits. 6 fantastic Rooms, hugely popular and very generously sized. An ideal spot in the beautiful English Riviera.
Reviewed 10 September 2021

Please be aware that the car parking is monitored by an external parking company. £80. fines sent out a few days after visit. Best not to risk eating here.

Date of visit: August 2021
2  Thank DMB987883
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2021

After our takeaway roast being so nice in lockdown we visited for a Sunday roast and sat in the beer garden. We both had beef and the meat was delicious, in fact all of it was delicious - only feedback on the food is a check back would've been nice, and between 2 people 2 slices of accrete isn't enough, v eg is cheap to buy in so between 2 people I would say more veg needed.
Unfortunately this venue is right opposite a sewers ground which you can really tell - not their fault but its a shame.

Thanks for the meal

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank annamay21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2021

Overpriced average food. Disappointed as I had heard it was good. Vegetables sparse and uninteresting. Staff friendly.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TA584H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2021 via mobile

Went to the railway Inn on 2nd September .The food and service were excellent. We are here on holiday and would highly recommend. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank lindarZ6462LJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2021

Had lunch here today, my husband ordered the meat pie and I had the ploughman’s lunch. The pub was very quiet but we still had to wait over 30 minutes for our food to arrive. When it did arrive the pie was served on a plate with a few chips in a small bucket and peas rolling around on the plate. The pie was very dry and looked like dog food. My husband had to ask for gravy to try and make it edible. The ploughman’s was okay, but we were never asked if the food was okay and to ad insult they tried to to charge us £111.00 for the meal. When we confronted the staff about the bill, we were spoken to as if we were lying about our bill and then they checked and found out it was the bill for another table, no apologies nothing. Poor service rude staff and appalling food, will never eat here again. Avoid , big time…

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nicolam977
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Railway Inn also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to The Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.