We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cosy Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Aerial shot of Brosterfield Farm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aerial shot of Brosterfield Farm
Brosterfield Farm the rear view of The Old Dairy and Shippon Cottage The Old Dairy Left
Shippon Cottage Right
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Aerial shot of Brosterfield Farm
Brosterfield Farm the rear view of The Old Dairy and Shippon Cottage
The Old Dairy Left
Shippon Cottage Right
Shippon Cottage kitchen
Shippon living room leading into the dining and kitchen area - please note new grey sofas
Shippon Cottage, Living Room Area
Shippon Cottage
Shippon sitting area
Shippon
Shippon Cottage entrance
Shippon Master bedroom with En-Suite Shower Room
Shippon en-suite bathroom
Shippon 2nd double bedroom
Shippon Main Bathroom with overhead shower
Shippon - Bedroom 3 -  Twin Room
Shippon Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Foolow, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
andrea000...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for a short break, lovely cosy cottage, excellent facilities, comfy beds,we loved the log burner, as did our dog! Only small gripe we have is that could have maybe done with better TV package, as wifi not strong and no phone signal in most places, other than that, beautiful place to stay, if weather was better, we may not have even realised this.
Great walks on doorstep!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole cottage is lovely and clean
Liked least: TV only free view
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
Thank you for your review and I am so glad you had a lovely time. We do get 8.6 Mbps wifi speed, which although not a city centre speed, is very good for a rural location and better than most cottages in the Peak District as we have updated to fibre recently. We would love to have you again and hopefully the weather will be kind to you next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles P
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed here for a long weekend of walking. This cottage is a better specification than the normal holiday cottage and comfortably sleeps 2 couples and 2 kids in singles. The walks near Monsal head and Curbar edge are amazing. The only small issue we had was with the TV that played up but worked ok in the end. We plan to stay again next year and maybe book another cottage at the same time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola-No...
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a wonderful location!”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The property was very spacious, comfortable and warm, with an enclosed garden which enabled my young son to play safely, he loved the fact that the farm was surrounded by sheep and cows.

Foolow village was a short walk away with a lovely duck pond and a pub.

The cottage was ideally situated and whilst in the Peak District we also visited Bakewell, Buxton, Matlock and Eyam. Our four day break went by all too quickly. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the cottage to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C
Rampieux, france
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice location, nice conversion.”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

we stayed here for six nights on the way back from Scotland. It was fun as it snowed heavily which the dogs loved. We stayed the first night in the old diary, but the hot water was being very temperamental, so the nice owners transferred us to the Shippon which was equally nice. Despite various trys the hot water system was clearly having a bad week, so it was difficult to get a shower or a bath. The owners tried to get it sorted but it was clear it needed expert attention. It certainly did not spoil our break and Penny gave my wife a few nice "smelly gifts" as an apology.. The wifi is ok for e mails etc but not really strong enough for downloads. The cottages are decorated in a quite modern style, rather than old world cottage style. Nicely equipped.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No hot water for shower or bath most of the time.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
The issue was caused by increase in the local water pressure from Severn Trent’s End, the hot water feeds from the biomass boiler into a heat exchanger into each holiday cottage of which the temperature is then blended with cold water to reach an acceptable level for the cottages. Because of the exceptionally high water pressure it was effecting our heat exchanger and making the water tepid. We subsequently fitted pressure reducing values on to the cold water incoming supply which solved the problem. This problem was dealt with immediately.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tor688
Lincoln
2 reviews
“A beautiful location & excellent accommodation led to a very enjoyable & relaxing weekend!”
Reviewed 3 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We have just returned from an idyllic weekend in the Peak District - we stayed at Shippon Cottage which was in a perfect location for our visit to Bakewell and Chatsworth House.

The accommodation was booked some time ago, but the contact with the owners has been prompt and efficient. The cottage was spotless and sufficiently stocked with all that we required for a long weekend away.

We look forward to returning in the near future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location of cottage
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing