We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quaint house in the lakes”
Corner Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Corner Cottage
Wood burning stove - ahhhh It's the Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Corner Cottage
Wood burning stove - ahhhh
It's the Kitchen
Living room from the bookcase
Living room from behind the television
Main Bedroom - my favourite anyway
Bedroom 2 - it's twins....beds
Chapel Stile - cows eye view
Chapel Stile - sheeps eye view
The Chapel of Chapel Stile fame
Chapel Stile - birds eye view
The Cottage from the middle of the road
Wood burning stove - not quite sure why I have 2 photos of the stove but it's better than none!
Floor Plan
The Games Room with brand new Pool table - just in case it rains!
Village shop - 50 yards away
Village shop welcomes novices!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Chapel Stile, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kazcowens
2 reviews
“Quaint house in the lakes”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Quiet location, not too far from amenities. Looked forward to seeing the sheep walking pass the window in the morning.
Enjoyed a game of pool everyday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
Ha - yes, the wandering sheep on their way to work always makes me smile - quite a contrast to your normal rush hour.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa E
Henley on Thames, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, cost in a great location.”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

When looking for a property in the Lakes we look for a traditional, cosy cottage where we can leave the car behind to explore. This was just what we were looking for. Warren gave us so much information before we arrived which was delivered with a taste of fun. Very close to both a shop which was extremely well stocked and had very friendly staff and the local pub, Wainwrights which was very welcoming at the end of the long car journey and long days out walking. However the cottage was also very hard to leave due to comfortable surroundings. Well equipped games room which was enjoyed by all. Plenty of room for parking. We have already told other members of our family who are hoping to visit soon. Thank you for letting us use your home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Thank you very much for the review Teresa. Good to hear the shop & pub are still on form. I always try and find an excuse to pop into the shop whenever I visit - there's a few characters in there! Hope to see you back soon. Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steveN446...
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 18 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Fantastic location. Great for walking and strolling across the road to Wainwrights.
House was very well presented.
Adequate parking for the 4 cars we brought.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2015
Thanks for the review Steve and good to see you managed to squeeze The Wainwrights on to your walking routes.....it would be rude not to!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hthomsit
Chelmsford
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant holiday.”
Reviewed 10 December 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Six of us stayed in Warren's lovely holiday cottage back in April, and I'm so sorry I haven't posted a review until now!
We're three couples so I was a bit anxious about not having enough space for us all (we've only ever stayed in static caravans before now) but there's so much room at the Old Postmaster's. The kitchen was superbly equipped for cooking, eating and cleaning (I love that there's a washing machine on hand!), and the living room was equally well received and where we spent a lot of our time.
Warren was on hand to help out if we needed anything, and had even popped to the cottage once or twice before we arrived on our due day as there had been a problem with the TV and Wifi - a lovely gesture and much appreciated by all of us. Everything worked perfectly during our holiday. Communication beforehand was also great, and Warren emailed a lot of info about restaurants and the local cinema. We didn't visit at the time but have since made use of this info pack during our Autumn visit and have passed it on to others so thank you, Warren!
The bedrooms were all very comfortable with plenty of room for all of our kit.
We really enjoyed the location of the cottage - the shop is ideal and stocks everything, and the Wainwright's Inn serves excellent food and beer which is just what's needed after a few epic treks up from the Langdales and beyond!
We'd love to go back, we're just hoping that we can find some dates when the cottage is available!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was better than any of us expected.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2015
Better late than never, and as that is one of the best reviews I've had, I am more than happy to wait!! Thanks for mentioning the shop - support from guests helps it survive. And I'm glad you appreciated the pub - there's always a good selection of real ales (very important to me!) and the food is always sufficient to replace the calories used on the fells!. Hope to see you back next year. !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dad232
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Great place to stay in the Lake District”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The Old Postmasters Cottage is an awesome place to stay in the Lake District. Reasonably close to Ambleside and all that that has to offer. Lovely quiet village, well equip local store and great pub. We stayed as a family of five and the grandparents, and there was plenty of room for us all. The kitchen was well kitted out, and the place was clean and tidy. Warren was a lovely host, and was quick to sort out a couple of minor issues. We live in New Zealand so it is pretty hard for us to make regular visits, but if we could I would not hesitate to book this place again and again, did not disappoint. Thanks Warren.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2015
Many thanks for the review Mark and I trust you had a safe journey back to Kiwiland for your summer. Great to have guests who really appreciate the Lakes and try and get to see all the areas of interest. Having limited time motivates you to get to see as much as possible but us 'locals' are more relaxed - the result being we don't actually get to see certain areas! Anyway, Hardkott Fort is definitely on my list next time i get to spend a weekend there. Thanks again. Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing