We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Location For A Short Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Penny Red

Enjoy the view from The Penny Red
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy the view from The Penny Red
Views of the beach and the stunning Cardigan Bay from your own private balcony. Patio doors on to the balcony.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Enjoy the view from The Penny Red
Views of the beach and the stunning Cardigan Bay from your own private balcony.
Patio doors on to the balcony.
Luxurious open plan living space
Luxurious open plan living space.
Luxurious open plan living space.
Luxurious open plan living space.
Spacious sitting and dining area
Well equipped and modern kitchen.
Well equipped and modern kitchen.
Well equipped and modern kitchen.
View across the bay at Aberporth
Master bedroom with luxurious en suite.
Option of twin beds or king size bed
En suite with overhead rain shower.
2nd bedrrom that can setup as king size or two single beds.
Main bathroom with bath and shower.
Views of the beach and Cardigan Bay.
Glass lined balcony with outdoor eating area.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Aberporth, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ColinLivi...
Wokingham, England
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent Location For A Short Stay”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My wife and I along with two friends spent four nights at The Penny Red in Aberporth. This was our first visit to this part of Wales. The apartment was excellent. Very clean with all that we required and the view of the Bay from our balcony was an outstanding feature. All of the facilities were as described and we have been holidaying together for 10 years and this was one of the very best stays. It is a lovely location with great walks and places to visit and the people are so nice. Can I also mention that if you need a taxi then use, A2 Taxis owned by Gary, a lovely man who could not have been more helpful. Also based in Aberporth - 07795 802082. Would highly recommend.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location of the property
Liked least: The steep stairs to and from the property.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy4819
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Just a few words.

Lovely apartment. Anyone who wants a really nice place to stay can choose any of the 3 apartments available.
Unfortunatly, due to illness, we had to cut short our New Years break. But, for the few days we did manage to
stay, I can only say that it was lovely. Excellent views, lovely clean and comfortable apartment. Everything
you need is at hand. Complimentory bottle of wine and Welsh cakes was a nice touch. Sam greeted us on
arrival and gave us a quick once over, then left us too it. She is on hand for anything you need.

Anyone staying here will NOT be disappointed. Highly recommmended to anyone. But, be aware, for older
persons, the top floor is accessed via metals staircase. It would be wise to use one of the lower
apartments in that case, and if Penny Red is anything to go by, then the other two apartments will be just
as nice ...

Would we book this again... YES ...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2015
Thank you for your review and we hope you are now recovering from your illness. It's lovely to hear you'd recommend our apartments. We hope you'll come back and stay longer when you are fit and well. Best Wishes. Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary G
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely apartment in perfect location”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My husband and daughter have just spent five nights at the penny red, the apartment was fabulous, clean & bright in the most amazing spot. The weather was perfect, wall to wall sunshine each day, none of the coats we took were required! Managed breakfast on the balcony each day,
Within easy reach of the most fabulous beaches, we did Aberystwyth, Newquay - saw lots of dolphins here, Tenby & Mwnt.
The only downside was no 02 reception but not necessarily a bad thing, free wifi in the apartment made up for it.
Sampled two pubs, the chinese and the chip shop, all close by, would thoroughly recommend a stay at the old post office

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: no phone signal
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarks55
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a 4 night break in the Penny Red @ Aberporth - what a little gem. Took my elderly Mother and Aunt on a "girlie" holiday. It was perfect. The apartment was overlooking the beach and sea- picturesque. We were greeted by Jeff who helped us to take our luggage up the 20 something steps to our accommodation - we were shown around and made to feel at home with welsh cakes and ice cold wine provided to welcome us.
Every home comfort had been thought of. The apartment is modern, clean and well equipped-every window provided different views of the tiny bay, sea and beach. Always something to watch.
Sat on the glass lined balcony watching dolphins-eating breakfast, sat on the clean fine sandy beach eating fish and chips (from the owners cafe next door but one to the apartment) and sipped fizz, walked along the tarmac Coastal path towards Tresaith cove. Had tea and a cold lager at the pub next door to the apartment which is in the process of being extended and almost finished with similar glass lined balconies to enjoy the sea view and sunsets. All those activities took place 1 minute from our apartment. Weather permitting-you need not get the car out of it's allocated space.
There are lots of beautiful beaches, towns and villages along this coastline if you want to venture out-just bear in mind most of it is quite hilly and roads narrow.
The mini break made lots of new memories for two older ladies! Thank-you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2014
Hi - Thanks for your lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Best Wishes, Sam & Jeff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orphir, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Extremely small basin in ensuite.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing