We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy and amazing food.”

Cafe, Pizzeria Joannes Paulus II
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$30
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Victor was an amazing host, he offered us hot chocolate and peanuts while we waited for the food. He had our tables set and the palce was fairly clean. The pizzas, I cant even begin to describe them, they were made from scratch right in front of us and the flavor was perfect. Fresh, local ingredients. Not expensive and totally worth visiting if you are in the area.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Melib2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2018

Pizza was delicious, one of the best I've had. Owner is really nice and welcoming, couldn't admire the view because we went at night, but all views in San Gerardo are amazing, so I don't think this is an exception. Only takes cash!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KennethF1334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Found this lovely little place on trip advisor. It was hard to find in the dark but is just opposite Miriam's restaurant with a huge trip advisor banner hanging across the front. Unassuming make do little place no menus but an excellent host come chef who rustled up a marvellous pizza for us.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Jude99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

My family and I drove up the hill from the savegre hotel in the late evening in search of Pizza. We found a humble restaurant with simple decor. We ordered a pizza and started playing cards. A while later, our youngest son(8) started freaking out and crying about a growing pain in his leg. After some serious wailing, The cook/owner came out and offered the couch, then proceeded to call his dog over(kid therapy). Then busted out some muscle cream and offered it up to the little man. I have not met many people that would take time to help out a little wailer in a restaurant. Victor is a kind soul, who makes incredible pizza.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Willy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Wonderful pizza in a beautiful place. Couldn't ask for more. Gotta try the blackberry (mora) juice from the bushes on the property. Keep living the dream my friend, we will see you again soon

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe, Pizzeria Joannes Paulus II also viewed

San Gerardo de Dota, Province of San Jose
San Gerardo de Dota, Province of San Jose
 
San Gerardo de Dota, Province of San Jose
San Gerardo de Dota, Province of San Jose
 
San Gerardo de Dota, Province of San Jose
 

Been to Cafe, Pizzeria Joannes Paulus II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing