We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stop for lunch and view”

Mirador de Quetzales
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

Family owned and run cabins and restaurant was our lunch stop on our return to SanJose after touring for three weeks. The views are delightful from the deck with hummers feeding close y and valley and mountains in the distance. Restaurant mid simple and very satisfying. We had an unusually warm day in early May and loved sitting out in the deck. Well worth a stop if you need a break from driving.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Nubra_Floyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

We wanted a chance to see quetzals as part of our Costa Rican trip, and after one missed opportunity elsewhere we decided to try our luck at the Mirador delete Quetzales. Which luckily paid off.
We didn't rent a cabin, so I can't comment on that, we were driving around with our rooftop tent and asked if we could camp in the parking lot and take a quetzal tour the next morning. The superfriendly Jason told us this was fine. Even the view from the parking lot is great! :)
Everyone was very helpful, service is great. Since we were camping and the mountain area can be cold we asked to borrow some extra blankets and they were provided without discussion.
The next day we got very lucky as quetzals landed near the lodge, so we had spotted them even before the tour began!
The tour itself was fun, the people there obviously know the area and wildlife well, it took about two hours to walk the area around the lodge and we saw a group of four quetzals at the end, we were very lucky with that.

All in all it is a cozy place, with a great staff, amazing views and a good quetzal tour, the prices are more than reasonable.

Practical notes: it can get cold up there, and it is likely to be windy, so make sure you are prepared for that, bring the right clothes!
Viewing quetzals, or any kind of wildlife, requires a lot of luck, besides a skilled guide, so keep an open mind and stay positive, and let Mother Nature surprise you! Also, wear sensible shoes. :) It is a nature hike and not a zoo.

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank HJLameij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

A very simple place with a warm family service.
The trail is very nice through the forest and you can see birds!
If you like rustic cabins you will appreciate this place

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank magdabruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

The staff is very helpful but we were disappointed with the state of the cabinas. They were extremely rustic and the view from most of the cabinas is obstructed by trees and the roof of the restaurant or the house below. The four newer cabinas had a better view but they were not available. We found the first two cabinas unacceptable do to age and lack of repair. The third cabina which we stayed in was better but had no view. All through this the staff was excellent. The food is good but plain, strongly recommend you only order the trout as it is fresh, it is quiet and pretty but did not fell it warranted the price.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vivian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Fresh trout from the property. We hired a guid fromthis location and walked the woods near the lodge. We were very lucky to have seen 4 males and 2 female Quetzals.

Date of visit: February 2017
2  Thank Didi33133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mirador de Quetzales also viewed

San Gerardo de Dota, Province of San Jose
Santa Maria, Province of San Jose
 
San Gerardo de Dota, Province of San Jose
Orosi, Province of Cartago
 
San Gerardo de Dota, Province of San Jose
Santa Maria, Province of San Jose
 

Been to Mirador de Quetzales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing