We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Adjoining villas, perfect for 2 families, with...”
Outdoor dining area with panoramic sea view!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outdoor dining area with panoramic sea view!
Mediterranean sea view from any angle of the pool area or balconies! Sunset time in the villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Outdoor dining area with panoramic sea view!
Mediterranean sea view from any angle of the pool area or balconies!
Sunset time in the villa
Being 2 independent buildings gives you more privacy between your own group!
Pool area with sun beds and umbrellas
35 m² pool area has a full privacy and breathtaking view
Charcoal barbecue with sink next to the outdoor dining area
One of the living room with sea view
Indoor dining area a nd fully equipped kitchen
Bedroom on the ground floor with access to the pool area
Bedroom on the ground floor with access to the pool area
Bedroom in the loft space
Bathroom with shower on the first floor
Bathroom with bath on the ground floor
The second living room
The second indoor dining area a nd fully equipped kitchen
Bedroom on the ground floor with access to the pool area
Bedroom on the ground floor with access to the pool area
Bathroom with bath on the ground floor
Veranda on the first floor with dining table and sea view
Mediterranean sea view from any angle of the pool area or balconies!
Sunset time in the pool area
Enjoy your meal with sunset view..
Overview of the villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Mirthios, Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Greek first
Italian first
Any
English first
alisonmcm...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Adjoining villas, perfect for 2 families, with stunning views over Souda Bay”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

3 generations of our family stayed in Villa Thromila for a week. It is in a quiet location, with stunning views over Souda Bay and yet it is only a few minutes drive uphill from Plakias with its restaurants, shops and beaches. The 2 houses are adjoining, which makes it perfect for several families. The inside is simple, modern and clean, with lots of creams and beiges. There are shady verandahs on every level, and a large shady dining area overlooking the (unheated) pool, which could seat 12, with a great brick barbecue. The grounds around the house are beautifully maintained and planted with herbs and flowers. There was plenty of room for 3 cars. The good sized swimming pool was cleaned early every morning before we woke up, and has plenty of loungers and an outside shower. Beyond the boundary of the swimming pool, below the house, is green vegetation as far as you can see, which when we were there, was full of wild flowers. The owner was extremely helpful when he had questions and left fruit, a huge cake, honey, olive oil etc for us at the beginning of our stay, as well as buying groceries as we arrived on Easter day. The house was cleaned half way through the week.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danieljar...
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“A wonderful stay with a family and friends in villa Thromila”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We wanted to thank you and your team for making our wedding celebration and vacation so pleasant! It could not be better to have such a high standards service as in villa Thromila! Villa provided everything what we could need during our stay - spacious rooms and terraces, stunning view to the sea, fully equipped kitchen, grill, even speakers to listen to the music, and many more. All of us was so happy to visit Crete for the first time and have such a good impression! If not your villa, we would not have a contact with our wedding organiser Niki and her team. Therefore, we are very grateful for your friendship! We even consider to move to Crete someday as we enjoyed the climate and the rest!
We wish you all the best to have more satisfied customers coming to Crete!

Regards,
Daniel & Gertruda

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: a great service and organisation of all the team
Liked least: too few cutting boards and knifes in the kitchen
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarek D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, amazing hospitality!”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have spend a great week in Villa Thromila with a group of 10 friends. The villa is very clean (cleaning every 3-days) and well equipped (you will find there everything you need to cook for 10+ people). The owners are just great and makes everything to help you enjoy your stay.

Once again many thanks to the Owners and Etouri team for hospitality and providing the best-in-class service.

P.S. I will never forget the taste of delicious cakes prepared for us by Mrs. Margarita ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality and proffesional service
Liked least: Nothing. Maybe Wi-Fi signal could be a bit better.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik L
Hinnerup, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect house and excellent service from the owner.”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

From start until we left this property there was an excellent service from the owner. Water, fruit basket, olive oil, honey and a superb orange cake were in the house when we arrived.
A warm welcome by the owner's family and explanation of what to see in the area was a good introduction to the southern part of Crete.
Several possibilities of both outside and inside seatings for larger groups. We were 9 persons travelling together and had both possibility of privacy and also sitting separately in smaller groups.
Outdoor kitchen was perfect and also were the several restaurants/tavernas in both Plakias, Souda and Selia (Taverna Elia is highly recommended).
Villa Thromila is built on the mountain side and has a magnificent view of the Plakias/Souda bay and city.
Several very nice beaches with snorkeling possibilities are also found in this area.
Especially we loved the tranquility of the southern side of the Island. However, it was quite windy on some days, but this was not necessarily a minus as it would otherwise have been too hot on the terrasse.
Both Villa Thromila and the Plakias area can be highly recommended for a relaxing vacation.
Our expectations were fully met.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sea view from the house
Liked least: Wi-fi coverage in two rooms on the ground floor was not stable. Rest of the house was OK.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjfromt...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly, flexible and peaceful accommodation”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The Villa is made up of two adjoining almost identical structures. Each has its own well kitted out kitchen with sitting room. bathrooms, separate toilets, and so on. The outside area is shared - pool, barbecue, sun bathing areas. There are four double bedrooms in all, and there is additional bedroom space in a mezzanine area above each kitchen (although this is obviously not very private.) The rooms are all air conditioned, and the downstairs bedrooms have electronic shutters for absolute peace and quiet.

The Villa itself is located in a sparsely built area with ravishing views of both the sea and mountains. There is an almost finished building next door, but apart from that being eventually occupied, we could safely make as much commotion as we liked with no neighbours to annoy.

This arrangement meant, for us, that the younger members could 'take over' one of the kitchen and mezzanine areas - and make as much mess and noise as they liked; whilst the others could retreat to their private rooms, or use the other kitchen and sitting room for quieter activities.

We normally ate on one of the balconies overlooking the pool and the sea; or by the barbecue area - which could easily handle a group of twelve with no hint of strain.

There are stairs to all the bedrooms, (although, at a pinch, the sitting room sofas could be used as beds) but from the outside there is stepless access to the downstairs rooms. So the Villa would only just be OK for disabled people. The access to the pool and sunbathing areas is only either via the bedrooms, or through each front door of either side of the Villa. This was slightly inconvenient, although it's difficult to see how this could be resolved.

This area, in common with much of Crete, seemed to get its fair share of windy days whilst we were there. (But even the local beaches weren't so wind blown.) This meant that at times, pool toys had to be kept safe from blowing away; but such was the temperature, that it never felt less than warm during these periods.

The whole Villa was cleaned immaculately every three days and bed sheets and towels were replaced; and the pool was cleaned every other day - when the rubbish was collected. The hosts were very friendly, and "Mum" presented us with a large tray of cooked food when she came to clean - which was much appreciated.

The agents were friendly too. The booking was well supported and there was polite but not over-intrusive messaging whilst we were staying at the Villa. We didn't need much in the way of assistance during our visit, but I would be pretty sure that their offer of help, of whatever nature, would be well supported.

The Villa is located about 5 minutes drive from Plakias. It is on a pretty steep hill, so although it was quite easy to walk down to the nearest bays, you wouldn't want to walk back up the hill in extreme heat. Plakias probably wouldn't win many prizes for its beauty; but there are a large number of friendly tavernas, supermarkets and other shops. We weren't over-impressed with the beach at Plakias, but there are (seemingly) innumerable beaches and bays within a short driving distance which would suit all tastes.

We will remember the magical clear blues and greens of the Mediterranean water. The full moon and stars reflected off the sea whilst enjoying an after-meal late-night drink by the pool. And above all, the good-natured friendliness of our hosts and other Cretans who we met on our journey.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet atmosphere and private pool
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing