We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful relaxing place”
other travellers have booked this property
Secure 12m x 6 m pool with raised sun deck and plenty of shade,
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Secure 12m x 6 m pool with raised sun deck and plenty of shade,
Duck Cottage sun terrace overlooking the garden towards the pool. Ideal for alfresco dining! Duck Cottage kitchen windows overlook the front of the property towards the pond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Secure 12m x 6 m pool with raised sun deck and plenty of shade,
Duck Cottage sun terrace overlooking the garden towards the pool. Ideal for alfresco dining!
Duck Cottage kitchen windows overlook the front of the property towards the pond
The front of Duck Cottage, Somewhere to watch the sun go down with a glass of wine!
One of many geranium pots
Aerial view of Sevenne shows postion of pool, the cottages and the barn
The duck pond
Free range hens under the fig tree at Sevenne
Duck pond in summer
Vines around the pool produce sweet grapes in September
The Farmhouse
Waiting for the post!
Entertaining friends on Duck terrace!
Sunflowers
Twin room, cool and relaxing
Cool double room overlooking the garden.
Silk painting workshops held weekly. Find your creative side!
Night markets in July and August. Great fun for all ages, A chance to taste local produce
Visits to local chateaux
The wonderful pool area, nestled in the grounds, secure behind wisteria, honeysuckle and vines.
Anyone for table tennis?
Duck Cottage, cosy in winter, cool in summer.
Lots to do!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Miramont-de-Guyenne, Lot-et-Garonne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lottie45
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful relaxing place”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A very well equipt gite both inside and out. Inside it provides everything required including a great selection of items for young children. Outside the surroundings are beautiful and the pool a very good size. There are toys in the grounds as well as a trampoline. Chickens and ducks add to the fun. The hosts are welcoming and around when needed. A wonderful place that I would recommend to friends and family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments. We really enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettMa...
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great gite, great hosts”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in duck cottage. It was perfect for us and the kids. Sandie and Mark were great hosts and it is obvious that their gites are a labour of love for them both.
Sandie's talent as a baker is rivalled only by her affection towards her guests, I suspect that the only reason why Mark isn't the size of a house is the fact that he is constantly hard at work in there beautiful and perfectly maintained gardens. I say this because if I was married to Sandie all I would do is eat her cakes all day long....
Duck cottage has everything you need when traveling with small kids and lots more besides.
The gite itself was immaculate and there is plenty to do within an hour or so drive on the days you want to go exploring.
I would absolutely recommend this gite and hope to return in the future.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2016
Wow, thanks for the great review Garrett. It makes a difference when the guests are such great fun too! We look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linnyjw
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent gite, perfect location and super hosts - would recommend 100%”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Such a lovely holiday in Duck Cottage. Beautifully appointed accomodation wtih everything you need, wonderful large warm pool and great facilities on site for adults and children alike, including trampoline, games barn, animals and Sandie our host couldn't have been more helpful. Would definitely return and recommend whole-heartedly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool is magnificent
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canadajim
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location for young families with excellent hosts...”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at Duck Cottage in mid September for a period of six nights. We had only done one previous Gite holiday with our young baby and Duck Cottage looked like a good choice. It forms part of (what was once) an old farm, now owned by Sandie and Mark. There are only two gites - Duck and Drake - so its always relatively peaceful (and exclusive).

We were welcomed by Mark on our first day, and shown around Duck. It has all the required amenities for a week's stay and plenty of charm. The main double bedroom is tastefully decorated and the adjacent bedroom (2 singles) is convenient for children. Its all on one (ground) floor, so no stairs to worry about. There is a modern toilet / shower room and a kitchen with gas hob/oven. Mark and Sandie have managed to retain some of the period features of the gites, making them nicely rustic.

The Gites sit in the grounds of the old farm, forming an extension of the main building. There is plenty of space in the well kept garden areas, and (literally 30 feet from your outdoor decking area) is an enclosed and gated swimming pool. It is wonderfully peaceful in terms of location - the property sits between Labretonnie and Saint Barthelemy d'Agenais (both small villages) and overlooks fields. Saint Barthelemy has a small convenience store selling all the basics, but beyond that Miramont is about 20 mins (bigger supermarket) and Marmande about the same in the other direction. There is plenty to see (especially some good Chateaux and wine producers) within about 30-40 mins drive. A car is essential - the roads approaching the property are very small and rural (but of good quality).

Sandie and Mark are very helpful and keen to assist in any way. Sandie really did make us feel at home - even inviting us for sun downer drinks at the end of our stay. Their warm hospitality combined with the peaceful and pretty setting makes either Duck or Drake cottages an excellent choice for young families wanting to enjoy a bit of rural France.

All in all a very enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie M
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent hosts, Great scenery lots for little ones to do!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Mark and Sandie were great hosts and gave billiant advice on the local attractions and sites. They also set up our gite with our family in mind and even bought toys specifically for our daughter. The surrounding scenery , villiages, markets and castle gave us enough to do spending as much or as little time on site as we wanted. There was so much to do around the gite, with it's toys, ducks, chickens, friendly cat, trampoline, pool, swing, ride on toys we were never bored. Such ashame the weather was poor the first week. Overall we had a fantastic relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendliness and service
Liked least: The first week of weather
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$98
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing