We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
51
65
16
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
65
16
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2015

I've recently stayed there for one night, along with other family members. It looked like we were the only guests in there. Upon arrival, we were asked our passports and rushed to our rooms. The place is ok but the lack of service was disappointing. Even though I'd seen a cafe, restaurant and bodega in the property, there was no mention of any such services. I could not figured out how to turn down the heating and there was no one around to help me with that (The reception closes at night). The breakfast served was simple. We were asked how many of each item (yogurt, juice, fruit) we wanted, and when we ordered more, we felt we were being inconvenient. The amenities in the room were ordinary. A real shame. For the same price we stayed in a four star hotel in Avila, which was exceptional. If this place wants to continue to charge what they charge, they better invest in customer service.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 April 2017

Hello Melissa, although your comment about our establishment is pretty old already, I'd like to take a minute to update you that we are taking good care in trying to improve our delivered quality. Since end of 2016 we're heavily investing not only in the conservation of this 15th century building, but also in customer comfort. Again, thanks for your comments back then because they drive us to improve!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015

3 years on and this place is still going strong. Mercedes is still in charge, and remembered me from the last trip - she was wonderfully friendly and welcoming.

In fact it looks like business is booming, there were a lot more (spanish) guests this time, which is great to see.

Little has changed, breakfast is still wonderful, with the addition of an evening tapas menu now too. You can't help but fall in love with this beautiful, historic little hideaway.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

A delightful old mansion, with interesting imaginatively decorated rooms (very reasonably priced), a nice café-bar, a bodega (well worth a visit) and lots of history, in a charming working non-touristy agricultural town also jam-packed with history. Although we had a room overlooking the road thankfully the traffic was very light from about 11pm until about 8am. Breakfast was simple but very acceptable. Unfortunately we stayed on a Monday night when not only was the hotel's restaurant closed but so too were the other well-rated restaurants in town. So we dined modestly (too modestly) in a bar in the main square. Toro is one of Spain's forgotten gems, well worth a detour when travelling to the West of Spain: first enjoy the splendid architecture and then the views of the Duero followed by a glass of the fabulous local red wine.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Yes the hotel is fine, other reviewers cover that and we too had the antique-floored / 4posted bed room, a bit noisy in the mornings as the traffic starts to rumble past on the noisy cobbled surfaced street from about 6am. An inner facing room would be a better choice in all honesty. Toro is a nice old town, not the least bit touristy. We got a parking space opposite both nights - free. Wifi free and fast, free chilled water in the corridor, grateful for all that. Breakfast in the café pleasant enough, but basic. But yes we too had heard about the Rejardora restaurant and were prepared to wait the wait and dine Spanish style ie from 9.30pm - and starving by then - but it was definitively closed on the Tuesday and was advertised as open on the Wednesday, even had the blackboard on the street advertising the menu with stated opening hours - no sign of life by 10pm - and by then the tapas bars in the old plaza had started to pack up and go home. Hugely disappointed and just a bit cross. Shrugs of shoulders when asked about it in the morning. Incidentally - if you are into local wines here I can recommend visits to Vega Sauco (in Morales de Toro) and Yllera (in Rueda), the latter has a sensational champagne style wine from 100% Verdejo for a ridiculous 6euros a pop.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We have just spent 2 nights here in this lovely old building. Extremely clean and comfortable room (number 10) with the original floor from the 16th century. Great big four-poster bed and a very large room. Nice staff, breakfast a bit basic but the main restaurant is renowned for miles around. If you like "old" this is great. Small gripes are no English language TV channel and no rubbish bin in the room, also a small desk would be useful for the laptop (the hotel has free wifi. Plenty of parkind around.

Room Tip: Number 10 is the favourite.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SenorCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews