We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:00
Save
Review Highlights
Your Knowledge of D-Day and beyond is incomplete without a visit to Maisy Battery!

I had visited Normandy in May 2018 with one of the big tour groups which took us to all the obvious... read more

Reviewed 26 October 2018
ProudVeteranSon
,
Erie, Illinois
Nice surprise

Visited here with my wife after hearing about it on you tube, was amazing, unbelievable that this... read more

Reviewed 30 September 2018
rocktight
,
Melksham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 519 reviews
  
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveller rating
333
122
28
21
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
122
28
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hidden history pointe du hoc german trenches gun emplacements artillery pieces gary sterne amazing site an eye opener interesting place for sale omaha beach atlantic wall historic sites information boards interesting visit second world war history books
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 519 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

This is a big battery and could be really good, but the signage isn’t great around the site. There is so much more that could be explained and put into context. It’s interesting, but unless you have a good understanding of the war and conditions these batteries were built and fought under, it’s a bit lost. It’s very overgrown and could do with a big of TLC.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank chowso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

This place is getting better over the years but still hasn't got it for me. Maybe in a few more years. There are so many other attractions to visit in this historic area this would not be high on my list. Will improve I am sure.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank R8396BZgaryh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

We had read much about the site and we are enthusiastic about both DDay and Normandy. The website is informative and it was easy to book tickets. We appreciated that the site is privately owned and the work of a dedicated few people. However, we were surprised the site is so under-developed. The signage is poor, the relics uncared for and in the lighting, where it exists, is feeble. Some of the paths were impassable and a few of the buildings were unrecognisable for purpose, such as the hospital.

The site is interesting, as are all of the battery sites, and this one has merit as one of the places where the.defensive guns were, rather than at nearby Pointe du Hoc, the scene of the Rangers infamous cliff-climbing. However, the site needs more development before we would recommend others to visit.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank lindajac0bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

WOW so fortunate to have had the opportunity to visit this hidden gem on our visit. The battery itself as an "attraction" is a work in progress but what is on show is breath taking , the ability to walk amongst true "untouched" history relating to Dday surely does not come much better than a visit to the Maisy Battery . "Recently" discovered this is one of the least talked about crucial objectives of Dday . The visit itself was special but to have the opportunity to spend over an hour talking abut its history and significance with the owner and avid historian and author Gary Stern who discovered the forgotten battery was amazing . His passion and knowledge on the battery and all matters relating to the same are second to none and his willingness to share the above with us is something ill always be extremely grateful for. The service was fantastic from the moment we stepped into the office by whom I presume is his son who made us feel right at home . As if the previously stated wasn't enough they have hundreds of authentic ww2 relics available to purchase . Thank you Gary for making this truly special piece of history available to us all .

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Glorioso22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed it. My son came last year on a school trip and it was the number one thing he wanted to do again. Interesting place run by people who know their history of the area.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank LeonN_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews