We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Place for a Group Holiday”

Review of Garth Barns

Hafod Barn from pond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hafod Barn from pond
Ty Nant Barn Garth Lake at Sunset
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Hafod Barn from pond
Ty Nant Barn
Garth Lake at Sunset
Hafod Barn
Hafod Kitchen
Bedroom 5, Hafod
Bedroom 1 Hafod
Bedroom 2 Hafod
Oak Wood on the Farm Trail
Ty Nant Lounge
Bedroom 2 Ty Nant
Bedroom 1 Ty Nant
Bathroom 4 Ty Nant
Siteplan, Garth Farmhouse, Hafod and Ty Nant
Hafod floorplan
Ty Nant floorplan
Winter sunshine!
Ty Nant, rear view
Ready for the Dinner Party!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
19 Bedrooms, 19 Bathrooms, Sleeps 48
Llanidloes, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TRJB1988
Kinver, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Place for a Group Holiday”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Having researched accommodation for our friends' Hen Weekend in August 2015, we were so relieved to come across Garth Barns as a place to stay for 30+ people.

The Barns certainly did not disappoint. Beautifully appointed and spacious, they afford luxury accommodation at a very reasonable price. The location is stunning - think rolling Welsh hills and streams. There is a secluded lake on which to go boating and canoeing - just the spot for a sunny Saturday afternoon. We had a great time telling old stories around the campfire whilst we toasted marshmallows.

We had an amazing weekend at Garth Barns - Veronica the owner was brilliant and helped us out when one of our party's car keys got locked in the boot!

Would not hesitate to recommend this amazing destination to any large group of friends or family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Els L
Breukelen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
““Fantastic accommodation in a great setting””
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

With 16 friends I spent a week at Garth Barns in April 2016. The Barns are warm, comfortable and spacious. Every appliance is top of the range. All rooms have very pleasant decorations.
The surrounding countryside is beautiful. Fantastic walking country.
Veronica and John are the most welcoming and helpful hosts.
Loved it. Hope to return. Excellent.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raftery20...
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just had a weekend at Garth Barns to celebrate my husbands 60th birthday. It was fantastic the barns were very well equipped John in Veronica's absence could not have been more welcoming. There were 30 in our group ranging from babies to those who have retired, the treasure hunt provided by Veronica was good fun for everyone and John even arranged for use to visit a near by farm to see the lambs which the children old and young enjoyed.
Once again thank you it made a perfect weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry W
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful chalet, for a large group”
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed at Garth Barns to celebrate my 30th Birthday, in total we had 33 people staying in the Barns over the bank holiday weekend. Veronica made everything very easy for us, offering new sheets and towels for new guests arriving later and also accommodating a hot tub for the weekend and being available when our Tesco order arrived, which she very kindly put the fridge stuff away for us.

We had a fantastic time, the barns are massive and easily fitted us all in, they were very clean and the grounds were beautiful and immaculately kept. We changed the layout of the furniture in the main barn allowing us to have the dining table full length in the conservatory area, which meant everyone could have dinner together. This was great, and had a beautiful view of the garden.

The kitchen offered everything for us to cook for everyone, such a great selection of pots, pans, utensils etc. Two dishwashers was amazing, and such a large cooker, we even had a fridge just for the alcohol!!!

The organised treasure hunt was brilliant and all us big kids really enjoyed it, also it was great to be able to explore the wonderful grounds. The weather unfortunately didn't allow us to use the campfire but we did make use of the BBQ facilities, these were great and undercover, meaning we could cook whatever the weather!!!

The games room was also well used, the boys loved playing pool and also the space in the living area was plenty big enough for us all to play party games!

We hope we can return one day as it was such a wonderful place to stay, thank you again Veronica.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Such a big space for a large group, worked perfectly
Liked least: Too far away from London for us to return very often!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwanseaSh...
Swansea
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing - perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had an amazing time at these cottages. They were warm, comfortable and had a great feel about them. The owner Veronica was absolutely fantastic, looked after us really well and did everything she could to help. The surrounding are is also really pretty with plenty of great walks and a great sporst centre nearby. We have already booked to go back.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing