We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Zekiel B
Manchester, United Kingdom

Outstanding hosts with an Amazing B&B!!!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 02 Sept 2021via mobile
Very welcoming hosts Sophie and Andy who was very pleasant! Me and the girlfriend used our voucher through buyagift and we couldn’t of been more happier, the 400 year old property was really ooozing with character and that rustic feel to it.

We stayed in the ‘Cider room” which when we opened the door we was both wowed with how much detail has gone into the room. Tea and coffee making facilities within the room, tv, a nice big fan if you decide to get too hot in the room, however the bathroom done it for me, very nice and modern and the hand wash/ bodywash is to die for!!!!

Breakfast was definitely award winning quality! Absolutely cooked to perfection and had no faults with it whatsoever, definitely worth trying out.

Lea house is situated perfectly as you are next door to the Crown inn which is only a 2 minute walk away, however you can travel out to other villages/market towns which isn’t too far away.

I would definitely highly recommend staying at Lea House as the host really make your stay very welcome and very friendly, I will be definitely be back in the near future.
Date of stay: September 2021
Room Tip: You could probably fit 3/4 cars on the drive, however Andy will kindly help you to park
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
    210.3 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
    No booking fees
    • ZenHotels.com
    0.1 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
    R 2 526
    R 2 297
    No prepayment needed
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    0.0 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 2 781
    • Priceline
    6.3 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    R 1 067
    • Hotels.com
    • Algotels
    • Agoda.com
    6.4 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    R 2 325
    Fully refundable
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    6.8 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 2 067
    • Priceline
    6.8 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    6.7 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    7.7 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Lea
    Reviews (431)
    Filter reviews
    431 results
    Traveller rating
    370
    55
    3
    2
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    370
    55
    3
    2
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews lea house forest of dean wye valley guest lounge traffic lights b and b local area homemade jams warm welcome large table tea coffee making facilities lovely hosts a lovely place to stay lovely room old building sophie accommodation
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    18 - 23 of 431 reviews
    Reviewed 31 July 2021 via mobile

    We stayed here with our pup for a week. Sophie and Andy were great and extremely helpful. Our pup has tummy problems and is on a raw diet. They kept all our raw food frozen for us and made sure we had some defrosted for use daily. Despite Luna escaping one morning and ending up doing a mad run into their private space they were so accommodating. Sophie cooks an amazing breakfast to order daily, the BnB is clean, beautifully kept and handy for local regions. We are walkers and found it really easy to navigate our way to fabulous walks every day. We even ranged to Penn y Fann in the Brecons. Highly recommend staying here.

    Room tip: We took a crate for the dog to keep her off furniture
    Date of stay: June 2021
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank EstelleZ8
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 24 July 2021 via mobile

    Lea House is a beautiful example of a quintessentially English period property, and is home to a very welcoming and high quality Bed and Breakfast.

    From the moment we arrived and were given help in parking up, throughout our brief stay (en-route to South Wales) Sophie and Andy got the balance just right in terms of being helpful but not interfering.

    The setting is quiet, and the house is beautifully adorned with lots of tasteful ornaments and pictures, making it feel like a home from home. Our Family room was spacious and well equipped, with a good sized shower room and twin beds for the kids as well as a very comfortable double for Mum and Dad.

    The highlight of any good stopover for me is the Breakfast, and this didn’t disappoint - there was a wide choice of options ordered the night before, and there was no drama catering for our Vegan Daughter.

    The cooked English Breakfast was just glorious, every ingredient of the highest quality and well cooked - there was the option of sampling Sophie’s homemade jam with toast but we were all too full - next time! We also missed out on Andy’s home grown tomatoes which weren’t quite ripe yet, another reason to return!

    Overall a very professionally run, beautifully appointed property, with a warm welcome and nothing too much trouble, thoroughly recommended for any type of stopover!

    Date of stay: June 2021
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Mark P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 July 2021

    This was our first bed and breakfast break in years and had the best time ever. We stayed in the Hayloft room and loved it! Breakfast great and hosts very welcoming. Our pooch Ruby loved staying here with us, great dog walks nearby.
    Lots to see and visit in the area.

    Date of stay: July 2021
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank paddingtonhannah
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 18 July 2021 via mobile

    Had a fantastic 2 night stay at this home from home b&b. Great location for visiting the forest of Dean or Ross on Wye. Great hosts who let us have the whole of the house so we watched the England match with the other guests. Amazing breakfast with home made jam's and marmalade. Good vegetarian choice. Had a great weekend . Thank you so much.

    100% recommend

    Date of stay: July 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank 220lwhite
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 17 June 2021 via mobile

    Really nice little B&B! We stayed in the hayloft which was a super smart big room with a great shower.
    Sparkling clean and our hosts were very helpful.
    Breakfast truly is amazing- I don’t eat meat so really enjoyed the home made courgette frittata - and even your dog is welcome too - what’s not to like?
    Many thanks - Linda and Mark xx

    Date of stay: June 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank LindaT15
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Andy Evans, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2021

    Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Lea House. Your kind words truly mean a lot.

    We look forward to welcoming you once again should you be in the area.

    Regards

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews