We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nigel T
Coalville, United Kingdom

Delayed Christmas present

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Oct 2020via mobile
A fantastic welcome from the owner Andy, who showed us both around his beautiful house before showing us our room. The room was large with a huge bed which was very comfortable, we also had a very nice ensuite. Breakfast was ordered the night before and was cooked to perfection, the home made bread, jams and granola was amazing. All the cooking was done by Sophie. We will visit again and take our dog to explore the area
Thank you for a wonderful 2 night break
Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 447
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 392
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 392
  • Tripadvisor
    R 2 392
0.0 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 038
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 585
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 585
  • Tripadvisor
    R 2 585
2.1 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 103
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 099
3.9 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Restaurant
R 2 313
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 309
  • Vio.com
5.4 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 827
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 822
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 822
  • Tripadvisor
    R 2 822
6.3 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 336
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 332
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 246
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 332
6.8 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 029
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 099
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 898
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 099
6.8 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
R 2 418
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 413
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 414
  • Priceline
6.9 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Hope and Anchor restored to a high standard
R 2 565
R 2 365
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 565
  • Vio.com
7.0 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lea
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
370
55
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
370
55
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lea house forest of dean wye valley guest lounge traffic lights b and b local area homemade jams warm welcome large table tea coffee making facilities lovely hosts a lovely place to stay lovely room old building sophie accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2020

We were booked to stay here and chose it because it claimed to be dog friendly. Once we had booked (non refundable) we had to inform the hotel about the dog. We got an email which told us the dog needed to be put in the car while we had breakfast! How awful! If you're looking for a dog friendly break this is not the place.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JoanneT1043
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy Evans, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2020

This is factually incorrect.
Firstly, this person had all charges that were applicable waived.
All establishments will have in place rules and regulations. At the time of booking, using an OTA, you did not notify that you were travelling with a dog until after you had booked. If you had contacted Lea House prior to booking, you would have been notified that we are dog friendly, NOT dog exclusive. We offered to you a time when you could have breakfast, when there were no other guests, so you could eat with your dog present. But this was not satisfactory for you.
To summarise, we are life long dog owners, and have welcomed many dogs, big and small to Lea House, and will continue to do so. Our previous reviews from dog owners who have stayed with us over the last 5 years, stand testament to respectful dog owners being welcomed.
If this person wants to make comment on their experience, make sure you do not let the facts get in the way of the truth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2020

A very nice B&B in a suitable location for visiting places of interest eg. Symonds Yat, Forest of Dean, Hereford, Ledbury and Gloucester. You get a very warm welcome from the helpful Hosts. Breakfasts are large and tasty more than enough to see you through the day. A good nearby pub/restaurant is the Penny Farthing.

Date of stay: September 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alantullett
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 October 2020

Lovely welcoming hosts, great breakfast and really comfortable beds! The location was perfect for exploring Ross on Wye, Symonds Yat and the Forest of Dean. Would highly recommend and we hope to be back soon!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lauriefair91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy Evans, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2020

Good morning
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Your kind words mean so much.
We look forward to welcoming you to Lea House in the near future.
Regards
Andy and Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2020

We stayed at Lea House for two nights (Friday & Saturday). Sophie and Andy are great hosts and provided us with such a warm welcome. They are really friendly and have good knowledge of the local area to help guests get the best out of their time in the area. The room was lovely and spacious, very comfortable. The bed was super comfy. Teaand Coffee making facilities in the room always very welcome. Breakfast was very good. Plenty of choice, from fruit, yoghurts, cereal and of course cooked breakfast to order, which set us up for the day. We couldn't have felt safer in these strange times we are living in. Lots of attention to safety of guests, with the NHS track and trace check in app, lots of hand sanitizer and they even had a supply of masks should guests have not brought them. All in all, a perfect base for exploring a beautiful part of England. Thank you Sophie and Andy for your hospitality.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dawnm815
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy Evans, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Lea House. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our home, and that you had a safe and comfortable stay.
We look forward to welcoming you once again, hopefully not in the not too distant future, to explore beautiful Herefordshire.

Regards

Andy and Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2020

My decision to book this b&b was a late one ,but reading some of the reviews it helped reassure me that I had made the right choice. On arrival we were impressed by the location and character of the property, but even more impressed with the reception we had from Andrew. The accommodation was more than we could ask for for a one night stay but we would be more than happy to go back again and stay for for a week . It was full of charm and character , comfortable , bright and warm and to top it off the cooked breakfast was amazing . All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our short but sweet stay and would highly recommend Lea House and its owners Andrew and Sophie, who made us feel very welcome, to anyone who is looking for accommodation in this area of natural beauty .

Date of stay: September 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ccook206100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy Evans, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Your kind words are very much appreciated.
We are so glad that your short stay was a comfortable and safe one. We look forward to welcoming you once again, when hopefully your stay will be longer.

Regards

Andy and Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews