We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
George H
Kent, England

Perfect for a relaxing break

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Sept 2020
Our 4 night stay with charming hosts Andy and Sophie met all our expectations and more. We stayed in Hayloft, a spacious room with comfortable king-size bed and tea/coffee making facilities. The en-suite shower/toilet room was modern and efficient with good lighting. Breakfasts prepared by Sophie were superb with lots of choice from homemade and locally sourced products.and big enough helpings to set us up for the day. Andy tends a colourful garden where guests are invited to relax if so desired. There are many beautiful and interesting places to visit in the vicinity and the hosts are knowledgeable and helpful for those who want assistance in planning their day. Many local hostelries provide good food at reasonable rates. The warmth and friendliness of Andy and Sophie are the ultimate icing on the cake.
Date of stay: September 2020
Room Tip: Although situated on the main A40 highway we experienced NO traffic noise
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
    210.3 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
    No booking fees
    • ZenHotels.com
    0.1 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
    R 2 357
    R 2 248
    No prepayment needed
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      R 2 357
    0.0 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 2 747
    • Hotels.com
    6.3 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 1 998
    • Hotels.com
    6.8 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    6.7 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    7.7 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    12.3 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
    Free parking
    Birch and Maple Lodges
    12.0 km from Lea House Bed & Breakfast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Lea
    Reviews (431)
    Filter reviews
    431 results
    Traveller rating
    370
    55
    3
    2
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    370
    55
    3
    2
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews lea house forest of dean wye valley guest lounge traffic lights b and b local area homemade jams warm welcome large table tea coffee making facilities lovely hosts a lovely place to stay lovely room old building sophie accommodation
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    35 - 40 of 431 reviews
    Reviewed 12 September 2020

    We just stayed the one night to visit family in the village and we were more than pleased with Lea House. Sophie and Andy were spot on as hosts and they have the required safety measures in place re Covid-19. Our ensuite (great shower) room was large, clean and comfortable, the bed very comfy. Breakfast is pre-ordered the night before, plenty of choice and it was excellent; lovely fresh fruit and good cooked food, on hot plates, always a good sign. Good coffee too. We will go back.

    Date of stay: August 2020
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Larios
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 7 September 2020 via mobile

    What a wonderful weekend away staying at this gorgeous guesthouse. We were made to feel very welcome and Sophie and Andy were on hand to help with anything we needed. Andy showed us his garden where he grows the fruit and veg that Sophie uses to cook up a breakfast feast in the mornings. We had a full English with all the trimmings one morning (all organic meat sourced from local butchers) and kippers the next. It was delicious and kept us going until the evening. Sophie also makes her own granola and jams and sets the table out charmingly each morning.
    The guest area of the house has its own entrance, living and dining room. The inglenook fireplace, beamed ceilings and thick stone walls all add to the character of this beautiful building.
    There’s so much to do just a short drive away and Sophie and Andy are happy to recommend activities and walks. We filled our weekend walking, taking in the most beautiful scenery, canoeing and eating. With the occasional riverside pub stop-off to take in such a beautiful area of the country.
    We’ll be back to the Wye Valley again and wouldn’t think of staying anywhere else. Thanks for having us.

    Date of stay: September 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank roannel2017
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 1 September 2020 via mobile

    Had a lovey two night break here, Sophie and Andy very welcoming into their home, room was spacious and comfortable, breakfast freshly cooked and homemade jams amazing!!! Shower in en suite very good and powerful.

    Date of stay: August 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Sawtry
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 20 August 2020 via mobile

    We stayed here for two nights with our little doggy. Andy welcomed us as if we were old friends. Despite the restrictions in place due to covid we had a lovely time. Andy suggested places to visit and eat that were dog friendly. We both slept so well on a cloud of a mattress, the comfiest we have ever slept on and felt refreshed for the day ahead. Sophie met us at breakfast, She was a superb host and her breakfasts are amazing. We had full English one day and smoked haddock and kippers the second day, both were delicious and we didn’t need to eat again until dinner time! The poached eggs were perfect. Again Sophie suggested places to go and lent us guides. We felt like we were staying with friends and we didn’t want to leave. We would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone that needs a break.

    Date of stay: August 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank naomic520
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 3 March 2020 via mobile

    Spent a weekend at Lea House and found this B&B a lovely place to stay - great location with the market town of Ross on Wye nearby. The rooms are welcoming and really homely. Food wonderful and definitely recommend ! Best breakfast we’ve ever had !

    Date of stay: March 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Loula676
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews