We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Asian food with excellent cocktails”
Review of Greedy Buddha

Greedy Buddha
Ranked #1 of 31 Restaurants in Umhlanga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: At Greedy Buddha we aim to offer our guests a refreshing and unique approach to dining in SA. We are not an Asian restaurant but our menu and our food philosophy is inspired by the tastes and flavours of South East Asia. You can dine entirely on our Tapas style menu with over 40 different dishes to choose from....Or you can take the more traditional route and have a starter, main and dessert...The choice is yours. Our food philosophy is to take the freshest and most seasonal ingredients and create dishes that fuse the very best techniques and flavours of Eastern and Western cuisine. The results speak for themselves. Call it Asian inspired or call it fusion, we will charm your taste buds in a way that leaves you wanting more!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Greedy Buddy offers a good variety of Asuna dishes and sushi. There are different noodle styles with different meats and flavours to combine unique tastes. And the cocktails complement the asian tastes! Highly recommended

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 4ndr3_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The food was ok. The pad Thai is not really as in Thailand but an interesting interpretation. The other noodle dish was soaked too much in the sauce. Sushi good. Super friendly service.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Peterpanda1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

My family really enjoyed the menu options - healthy, varied and yummy. The setting and staff were also so pleasant!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank JanandMel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel826622, Manager at Greedy Buddha, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit to our venue. We pride ourselves on great food and excellent service. Thank you for appreciating our healthy yet yummy dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Wow what a place! When my hisband suprised me with a table booked at the Greedy Buddha, I was in for a serious treat. After having the Taste Menu, I can honestly say Ive never tasted anything else like it.

Well done Greedy Buddha, we will definitely come for more date nights!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Colani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel826622, Manager at Greedy Buddha, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

That's exactly what the creator of the menu loves to hear, " W.O.W."
The flavors are unique.
There's texture.
And portions are generous.
Hopefully ,date nights are a very frequent occurrence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

We spontaneously ended up at the greedy Buddha for dinner with the girls. Delicious food, great service and wonderful ambiance. Definitely a place to try if you haven’t yet!

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank 135kimberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel826622, Manager at Greedy Buddha, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

The best days of our lives are the the unplanned, spontaneous ones.
Thank you for recommending us .
Can't wait to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greedy Buddha also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Greedy Buddha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing